Buffalo Wings

Before I was diagnosed with Diabetes I would go weekly to Little Caesar’s and pick up their Italian Cheese Bread and Buffalo Wings. I am still trying to find a low carb garlic bread but all of my efforts have fallen flat. I have managed to create a low carb Buffalo Wing.

By using Whole Wheat Flour to coat the wings you will drop the carb count but if you don’t mind forgoing the coating you can make them even lower in carbs. We make buffalo wings almost weekly and I have lost 75 pounds now by eating low carb. Remember all of the bottles of Red Hot Sauce that I stockpiled in my pantry last week? I use a bottle of it weekly to make these beautiful babies.

ETA: I have since begun having a reaction to the flour so have completely removed it from the recipe when I cook it. I have not noticed a change in flavor and my levels are always under 100 now.

Buffalo Wings

 

3 pounds Chicken Wings

1 ½ cups of Whole Wheat Flour (White- I use King Arthur Brand only) (I no longer use this ingredient in mine)

Salt and pepper to taste

1 cup Franks Red Hot Sauce

11 tablespoons butter

Vegetable Oil

 

In a medium size saucepan add hot sauce and butter. Stir until butter melts but do not allow to boil. Remove from heat once the butter has melted. If you allow it to boil the butter will separate and your sauce will appear greasy. Allow this to sit while you cook the wings.

 

Mix flour, salt and pepper and very lightly coat chicken wings. Heat about half an inch of vegetable oil in a large nonstick skillet until very hot.  Place single layers of coated wings into the oil. Cook until golden brown. Remove from skillet and drain on paper towels.

 

Dip the cooked chicken wings into the sauce and place into a large casserole dish. If you have sauce leftover once all of the wings have been dipped pour over the wings in the dish.

 

This can be served with celery and ranch or blue cheese dressing on the side.

 

This will serve approximately 5-6 people.

 

2 responses to “Buffalo Wings

  1. this looks really delicious .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: Weekly Menu for 3/1/2009 « Grace2882’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

