Cranberry Pecan Muffins

Cranberry Pecan Muffins

 

12 ounces cream cheese, soft

5 eggs

2/3 cup Splenda, sugar substitute

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 ½ cups Whole Almond Meal

1 cup unprocessed wheat bran

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup fresh cranberries

½ cup finely chopped pecans.

 

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Lightly grease a 12-cup muffin pan (heavy-gauge metal is best). You can also use muffin liners.

 

Put cream cheese and two eggs in the bowl of an electric mixer. Beat with a flat beater until smooth and fluffy. Add the other eggs one at a time, beating briefly after each. On slow speed, stir in the rest of the ingredients except the cranberries and pecans. When mixture is well blended, stir in the cranberries and pecans.

 

Fill each muffin pan almost to the top. (The muffins will rise only slightly.) Bake muffins for about 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown. These muffins freeze very well. Thaw at room temperature.

Edited to add: I have added this recipe’s nutritional information to Map My Fitness if you are using it to monitor your food intake. You can find the nutritional information for this here.

Cranberry Pecan Muffin- Map My Fitness

Nutritional Information per muffin- Calories- 209, Carbs- 9.2 (Sugars- 1.8, fiber- 3.9, Protein- 8.0

Net carb per muffin- 5.3

12 responses to “Cranberry Pecan Muffins

  1. Pingback: Specialty Diabetic Items « Grace2882's Weblog

  2. Pingback: My Weekly Menu For 1/10/2010 « Grace2882's Weblog

  3. any idea how many carbs are in this? do you find whole almond meal and unprocessed wheat bran in a regular grocery store or walmart?

    • I find the almond meal/flour and unprocessed wheat bran in my Krogers in the healthy food item aisles. The almond flour is a bit expensive but worth it in my opinion. You can save money by buying it in bulk through Amazon.com. It freezes well until you need it.

      As for the carb count I suggest you use this website to find your carb counts for the low carb recipes. Recipe Calculator

  4. I have these in the oven! I can’t wait to taste them.
    Where do you find the Whold Almond Meal? I used the blender and added 1 T. Splenda to 1 1/2 cups of almonds. Saw on the internet how to subsitute this.

    I also have ordered Dr. Bernstein’s book and can’t wait to read it. I have to go to the Dr. this Monday and I think he is going to tell me I have diabetes.

    Years ago I was on the Low Carb Dr. Adkins Diet for over a year. Had great health and no weight problem. I have never look so go, so why did I give this up? Will try again. Would rather do this than take shots or pills.

    Saw a recipe onTasty Kitchen Stuffed Tomatoes with Tuna Curry Salad. This is wonderful. Thought you might enjoy it!

    Thanks for your ideas.
    Susan King

    • I hope that you enjoy them as much as I do. These are my favorite muffins. I get the almond meal at Krogers and Drug Emporium in their Healthy Market aisle. You can get it at amazon.com and it is cheaper if you purchase in bulk and freeze the extra. These muffins also freeze very well. I plan to make a double batch tomorrow and freeze half for the next week.

      I think the stuffed tomato recipe sounds very good. I will have to look into that.

      Good luck with the doctor. Hopefully your physician will let you attempt to control the Diabetes through diet to see if it will work for you. Be sure to let us know what the doctor says after you go.

  5. thanks for the info – i really like that recipe calculator

  6. Hi,

    Wanted to tell y’all about the best (IMO) and cheaper source of almond flour. It’s at Honeyville Grains. It is ground much finer than Bob’s Red Mill and to me works much better in recipes.

  7. Sorry I forgot to put the link – it’s honeyvillegrain.com

    Thanks, Cindy

  8. Hi Grace,

    I’ve been using that spark recipe calculator for years now but I’m starting to think the the nutritional info is incorrect. I havn’t been able to find another online recipe calculator that’s as easy as this one.

    Any suggestions?
    Thanks

    Great blog!!!

    • I do believe that the spark recipe calculator is slightly off but when I do the calculations manually it isn’t off by much. When you are using the sparks calculator it does give you the option to look at the nutritional information for each item before you enter it. I don’t know of any other free option available online unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

