Italian Sausages with Ratatouille

 

 

When I was a child I was given eggplant to eat but it had been dipped in egg and then cornmeal and I hated it. Same goes for squash. Seems all these years I have avoided many vegetables thinking that I hated them when in fact it was the cornmeal that I hated. I hate to think of all of the items that I have been missing out on all of these years. I don’t believe anything should be dipped in cornmeal and fried.

 

The original recipe came from here. http://www.elise.com/recipes/archives/004064italian_sausages_with_ratatouille.php

 

I changed the cooking technique to not fry the eggplant in order to lower the greasiness of the recipe and baking worked like a charm. I also put the lid on the pan to help steam the food and make it more tender.

 

 

Italian Sausages with Ratatouille

 

Ingredients

Olive oil
1 medium chopped onion, roughly chopped
2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
1/2 pound of zucchini, cut into 1/2-inch dice
1 small eggplant, unpeeled, cut into 1/2-inch dice (1 lb or less)
1/2 red bell pepper, cut into 1/2-inch dice
1/2 green bell pepper, cut into 1/2-inch dice
1/2 yellow bell pepper, cut into 1/2-inch dice
1 pound of fresh tomatoes, skinned and chopped (or 1 14.5-oz can diced tomatoes)
1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes
3/4 pound of sweet or old fashioned Italian sausages (you can use hot, but if you do, don’t add the red pepper flakes)
4 sprigs of thyme
1 sprig of rosemary

 

Method

1 Preheat oven to 400°F. Place eggplant, zucchini, tomatoes, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes and garlic in a roasting pan that has a lid that will fit tightly.  Place lid on pan amd place in oven while you continue with step two.

2. Using a large pan over medium-high heat, sauté onions and all peppers in 2 tablespoons olive oil until they begin to soften.

3.  Place onions and peppers into baking dish that already has eggplant mixture in it. Stir well.  Nestle the sausages, thyme and rosemary in the pan. Replace lid on dish.

4. Transfer to the oven and cook, covered, for 45-50 minutes, until the sausages are cooked through. Remove thyme and rosemary from the pan before stirring when it is done.

Serves 4.

 

4 responses to “Italian Sausages with Ratatouille

  1. That looks really good and 3 out of 4 people might eat that in my house. Worth trying.

  2. Now tell me which person won’t eat it. Not my little boys. They are perfect little angels and eat all of their veggies. lol

  3. LOL!!!!!!! E is my little vegetarian. I figured that since my dad became one because he ‘just didn’t like meat’, I wasn’t going to force it.

  4. My daughter was that way as a child. When she came back from her first semester from college she had changed and was eating meat. Good luck with getting E to join the rest of us carnivours. I know I misspelled that. lol

Leave a Reply

