Portabella Mushroom Lasagna

I am sooooooooooo happy with this one. I tried this and held my breath waiting to test my glucose on this. Well, actually I jumped on the treadmill to try to ward off a high number. After walking a mile and waiting 2 hours from the time of beginning my meal I tested at….. drumroll please…. 83. Isn’t that fabulous?

I made a few changes to the recipe from the original recipe. I am not a big ricotta cheese fan so I cut the amount of it in half and added Parmesan cheese in its place. I used my largest pan and I only had enough space to do one layer of each thing. Instead of using the large portabello mushrooms I used the presliced baby bella mushrooms. After working all day I need ways to cut time in cooking.

My sister told me that this recipe would probably be runny because mushrooms always put off a lot of liquid when they cook. I found that if you actually follow the recipe and let it sit for about 20 minutes it will not be runny. The key is giving the cheese time to cool.

The original recipe came from here:

http://solitarydancer.wordpress.com/2008/10/02/portabello-mushroom-lasagne/

 

 

Portabello Mushroom Lasagne

INGREDIENTS:

1 pound ground beef
4 Italian sausage links — (4 to 5) mild or hot
1 medium onion
garlic powder to taste
pepper to taste
1 container of baby bella mushrooms
1 small container ricotta cheese
1 egg
Lots of grated mozzarella cheese
Parmesan cheese- be generous

Canned spaghetti sauce (or make your own)

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Remove sausage meat from casings.

Brown sausage and ground beef with onions, adding garlic salt and pepper to taste.

Beat egg into ricotta cheese.

Spread a small amount of spaghetti sauce in a large baking dish or shallow roasting pan to prevent sticking.

Place mushrooms on top of spaghetti sauce.

Top mushrooms with a handful of the grated mozzarella and Parmesan cheese.

Then top with a generous amount of the meat/onion mixture.

Pour spaghetti sauce over the top.

Top with the remaining mozzarella cheese and Parmesan cheese.

Bake at 350°F for 30-35 degrees.

Allow to cool for about 10 to 15 minutes.

2 responses to “Portabella Mushroom Lasagna

  1. What an interesting recipe! I am going to have to try it out. MY DH hates mushrooms, so I will have to do it on a night he’s working. Thanks for sharing!

    • My DH hates mushrooms too but I did it on a night when I knew that he had plenty of leftovers to enjoy. I hope you enjoy it. I loved your blog. I hope that you don’t quit sharing your journey. It is one that needs to be told. I am sure that it will help others to know that they are not alone. I am deeply sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

