Southwestern Chicken

This recipe was very good. It reminds me of a Thai Chicken with Basil recipe that I used to make and loved. I unfortunately had to give that up because it was served over rice and that was not a low carb dish. This recipe is very spicy and not for the faint of heart. While making it I discovered that I needed to make a few changes to the recipe.

The recipe called for putting the vegetables alternately with the chicken on skewers but this does not work for me as the veggies do not get cooked as quickly as the chicken does. I will put chicken on skewers by itself and put the vegetables on skewers by themselves in order to cook the veggies more thoroughly next time.

The recipe also calls for using plastic baggies to marinade in. I do not like to use these and prefer to use my Tupperware Marinade dishes. They seal perfectly and I can easily flip them several times while they are marinating. The dishes look like this.

I also will need only use half of the cayenne pepper that the original recipe calls for. The recipe below has already been adjusted to reflect that change. I got this recipe from the Taste of Home Backyard Grilling Cookbook. I can’t say enough how much I love this cookbook.

Mike has been working late each evening so I ate dinner alone yesterday. Today too if the truth be told. When he came in I quickly informed him that the chicken was spicy!!! Now my husband seldom eats a vegetable so he didn’t even try them in this recipe but he did love the chicken and said he would like to have this again. Someday he will have to answer to his body for not eating nutritious meals. I eat the fresh fruits and veggies and lean meats and he survives on junk food and Coca Cola and does fine. May I also mention that he weighs a whopping 145 pounds? Sometimes it is difficult to be nice to that man. HAHA

 

Southwest Skewers

 

1 bottle (8 ounces) Italian salad dressing (find the lowest in carbs)

2 teaspoons minced garlic from a jar or 10 garlic cloves minced

1 teaspoon white pepper

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon paprika (I used Spanish paprika)

¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 medium green pepper, cut into 1-inch cubes

1 medium sweet red pepper, cut into 1-inch cubes

1 medium onion, cut into 1-inch wedges

8 large mushrooms

8 cherry tomatoes

1 pound boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into 1-inch cubes

 

In a bowl, combine first seven ingredients and mix well. Pour half into a large marinating dish and add vegetables. Seal dish and rotated to cover vegetables. Pour remaining marinade into another smaller marinating dish and add chicken. Refrigerate both containers for at least 2-3 hours.

Coat grill rack with non-stick cooking spray before starting grill. Drain chicken, discarding marinade. Drain vegetables, reserving marinade to use while basing. On 4 skewers thread chicken pieces. On 4 skewers thread vegetables. Grill, covered, over medium heat for several minutes until chicken is no longer pink and vegetables are tender, turning and basting frequently with reserved marinade. Yield: 4 servings.

One response to “Southwestern Chicken

  1. sounds really delicious .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

Leave a Reply

