Italian Sausage Soup

I love this soup. Mike wouldn’t even try it because of the vegetables. Heaven forbid a vegetable passes his lips. Healthy food would probably put him in a coma. lol

Anyway, I will be making this for myself again. I loved it. I tested my glucose 2 hours after eating and it was only 104. This one is a keeper.

Italian Sausage Soup

3 medium onions, sliced

1 sweet red pepper, sliced

1 sweet yellow pepper, sliced

1 sweet orange pepper, sliced

1 Tablespoon minced garlic, from a jar

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil

28 ounce can diced tomatoes

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon red crushed pepper

2-3 pounds sweet Italian Sausage, cut into bite size pieces

Parmesan Cheese

1. Saute onions, peppers and garlic in olive oil in non-stick skillet. When just softened, place in slow cooker.

2. Add tomatoes, salt, and crushed red pepper. Mix well.

3. Add Sausage and stir well.

4. Cover and cook on low for 6 hours.

5. Serve in bowls topped with parmesan cheese.

2 responses to “Italian Sausage Soup

  1. Have you ever tried pureeing the vegies he (Mike) wont eat. He may not even know they are in there plus the veggies can thicken some recipies without adding flour. I do that from time to time. Two of my kids wont eat stewed tomatoes so by pureeing it they don’t even realize it – same with any type of bell pepper. My husband hates squash but if I make squash soup and puree it he can choke it down. One bowl is always enough for him though. lol
    P.S. I love all your recipies. I think I saw something about a cookbook? – Where is it? Sign me up. I need it. After 10 years my husband finally decided he should go back to low carb. Thank you Lord.

    • Hello Heather, I haven’t tried pureeing the food yet but that is an option. I am so glad that he doesn’t read my blog. hahaha I am determined to make that man live forever and will go to any lengths to get him there. :)

Leave a Reply

