Broiled Asparagus with Parmesan Cheese

Today I am gladly allowing a guest poster to share a recipe. She recently shared it with me and yesterday I tried it and LOVED it so much that I asked her to do the post. The pics are from me when I made it yesterday. So here is my beautiful, amazing daughter Samantha to do the post in her own way.

*****************************************

Broiled Asparagus and Parmesan Cheese 

  • 1 bunch asparagus
  • ½ cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Normally I broil my asparagus with bacon (because bacon makes everything better) but I needed a side dish for a church potluck that was kosher for Passover. This means I couldn’t use my “wrap it in bacon” default when it comes to cooking.

So what does a girl do when she can’t use bacon? Smother it in cheese.

I trimmed the asparagus and spread it out flat on a baking sheet. I drizzled olive oil over the asparagus and tossed it until the stalks were generously covered, placed it under the broiler, and went to find something to wear to the dinner. I believe I let it broil there for around 5 minutes. That’s the amount of time it took me to walk upstairs to my bedroom, realize the desired shirt was not anywhere to be found on the second floor, trek back downstairs to the guest bedroom and locate aforementioned shirt in the pile of laundry that collects every time company comes to the house and I need a place to dump the clothes behind a closed door so that people think I’m a good housekeeper.

After the estimated 5 minutes passed, I took the asparagus out of the oven and placed it in a festive dish. I sprinkled the Parmesan cheese overtop (I’m guessing at the measurement, I eyeballed it) and seasoned with a small amount of salt and pepper. I stuck the dish back in the oven for less than a minute, just long enough for the cheese to melt.

At the dinner I had an 11-year-old boy praise the asparagus, which I think of as a success. Anytime a kid endorses your vegetables you know you’ve done well. I’m glad my mom tried it out and liked it. I’m shocked that she did either. The woman who writes this blog is not the same woman I grew up with. She used to NEVER try new foods, always sticking to the familiar. I’m very proud of her and I’m glad that we are now able to share recipes. Perhaps it will distract her from the fact she still has another year and a half until my husband and I plan on giving her any grandchildren. 

*********************************

OK I am taking back the forum. Can you believe she isn’t giving me grandchildren? How cruel can she be? I wait and Iwait. Caleb needs someone to play with. Everyone that thinks she should give me grandchildren please respond to this post in my support. Please come to this grandma’s plea and vote that she provide me with a baby.

If you want to visit her blog to post there that she needs to give me grandchildren you can find her blog here. http://foreverandever-amen.blogspot.com/

7 responses to “Broiled Asparagus with Parmesan Cheese

  1. I’ll back you up! As a fellow grandma with just one grandchild, I totally agree that your daughter needs to start having those babies! While I fully appreciate “waiting until the time is right”, you just can’t fully appreciate the joy those grandchildren bring until you experience it–every move, every breath, every noise they make is a JOY!

    (BTW, I just recently discovered your blog (I’m a regular on Two Peas) and will certainly be trying your recipes. I am a Type II diabetic who wishes the whole thing would just go away…)!

    • Welcome Laura. At first I just wished that the Diabetes would go away but now I honestly think it was the best thing to have happened to me. I feel so much better and am so much healthier now. You can do it Laura. Do you need a support buddy? Do you keep a journal of what you are eating and what your levels are?

      Oh yeah. Tell all of your friends to come and vote for me to get a grandkid out of my daughter. It won’t be long until she has her preppy friends on here taking her side. We grandmas need to stick together. LOL

  2. Now mom, patience is a virtue. Besides, if Caleb had someone else to play with then he wouldn’t be giving you his undivided adoration. Ben and I look forward to our family someday, but until I can get Ben to stop saying “oh no, really?” when I tell him I think I might be pregnant (just to mess with him) I don’t know that the timings exactly right. :P He has the goal of another year and a half and I think that it will take that long for him to fully get used to the idea. I think what he fears most is having to live with me while I’m prego- aaaaand cleaning out the litter box for 9 months. He really hates that.

  3. So what I am hearing you say is it is all Ben’s fault that I don’t have grandchildren from you because he is too lazy to empty the litter box? Pitiful pitiful! He is no longer my favorite son-in-law and I will never bake him cookies again!

  4. (a) If your daughter is busy with a grandbaby she will not have as much time to cook and therefore create amazing dishes like this one – just in time for the spring harvest of asparagus.
    (b) My first grandchild just turned one yesterday and he is such a source of joy to me that I can’t imagine what life was like before him!
    (c) So glad I found your blog :).

  5. Sherry , Sherry, Sherry. I do not care if she doesn’t have time to cook. She needs to give me a grandchild. Being a grandma yourself I am sure that you understand. ;) LOL

  6. Our agreement is that he does the dishes and I do the cat box, which works out great for me because I cannot cook without making a huge mess. And he’s not too lazy, he just doesn’t like doing it because it’s gross. I actually don’t mind it all that much, but I HATE doing dishes. It’s a perfect relationship. Also he doesn’t like popcorn, so I get the whole bowl to myself. I love him.

    Keep that sass up, lady, and I’ll add another year. :P

    Sherry, I hope you enjoy the recipe! Thanks for taking my side. :)

Leave a Reply

