Asian-Spiced Chicken Wings with Asian Mixed Vegetables

I made this last night for the first time and both Mike and I loved it. Of course Mike only ate the chicken. He refuses to eat vegetables based on principle at this point. :::sigh:::

I was so excited when I tested my glucose levels two hours after I ate and my level was only 96. Did you see that? 96!!!!! This recipe is a keeper. Isn’t it beautiful too?

For those wondering,  no those are not slices of potato. They are water chestnuts. You have to be very careful when making this recipe and make good choices in your ingredients. I will share exactly what I used. I calculated that the entire plate of food above that I ate was 20 carbs. I was full when I finished too.

I will tell how to make the chicken first.

Asian-spiced Chicken Wings

  • 2.5 pounds chicken wings
  • 1/4 cup sugar twin brown sugar replacement
  • 3/4 cup splenda
  • 1 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup ketchup (use Heinz low sugar ketchup- 1 carb per Tablespoon)
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 1/4 cup dry sherry
  • 1/2 cup hoisin sauce (I used Sun Luck brand because that is the only one that I could find. I will continue to look for lower carb brands and will update this recipe when I do.)
  • 1 Tablespoon lime juice
  • sesame seeds to top (optional)

Preheat broiler. Place chicken wings on broiler pan. Broil 4-5 inches from heat for 10 minutes on each side, or until wings are browned. Transfer to a crock-pot.

In a mixing bowl combine remaining ingredients except the sesame seeds. Pour on top of chicken and stir to coat. Cook on high for 2.5 hours stirring half way through.

Remove chicken from the pan and remove 1/2 cup of sauce to use towards vegetables. Discard remaining sauce to save on carbs.

I bought a bag of Asian Mixed Vegetables in the frozen section of Aldi’s. It came with a seasoning packet that I threw away because it contained sugar.

Asian Spiced Vegetables

  • 1 bag of Asian Mixed Vegetables from the frozen food section.
  • 1/2  cup of sauce taken from the chicken recipe above.

In a large non-stick pan place 1 tablespoon of olive oil and heat. Place all of the Asian Mixed Vegetables in the bag into the pan and stir. Cover for five minutes and stir occasionally.

Pour 1/2 cup of sauce over vegetables and stir completely. Cover and cook another 5 minutes stirring occasionally to keep from burning. Serve with chicken wings.

2 responses to “Asian-Spiced Chicken Wings with Asian Mixed Vegetables

  1. Pingback: My Weekly Menu For 9/5/2010 « Grace2882's Weblog

  2. SUPER GREAT AND EASY

Leave a Reply

