Beefy Tostada Pie

Both Mike and I loved this dish. I had to alter it a bit to suit both of our needs. Luckily I have this wonderful casserole dish that is divided into two sections. This allowed me to add things to his side that I can’t have and add veggies to my side that he won’t eat.

Doesn’t that look good? I was very happy when I tested my glucose two hours after I ate it and my level was only 96. I used ground beef in my recipe but for those who prefer to not eat beef you could easily use ground chicken or turkey. I calculated that each serving came to 7 carbs.

Beefy Tostada Pie

  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 pounds ground beef (can easily use chicken or turkey)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small can sliced black olives
  • 1 15 ounce can tomato sauce
  • 3 low carb tortillas (4 carbs per tortilla- I buy at Krogers)
  • 4 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • sour cream, salsa and chopped green olives optional (calculate for carb addition) 

Heat oil in large skillet over medium heat until hot. Add onion and cook until tender. Add ground beef and cook thoroughly. Drain grease. Add chili powder, cumin, salt, garlic and tgomato sauce. Cook until thoroughly mixed.

In casserole dish begin layering as you would for lasagna. Start with a tortilla, add meat mixture, olives and cheddar cheese. Repeat until all ingredients are used ending with cheddar cheese on top.

Bake in 350 degree oven for approximately 15 minutes until cheese is melted. Serve immediately. Makes 6 servings.

9 responses to “Beefy Tostada Pie

  1. This looks and sounds delicious! I’m going to definitely try this recipe. Thanks!

  2. Sounds YUMMY and super easy! I’m making this tonight. I know my DH will love it. How much tomato sauce did you use? Love your Blog! It’s helping to keep my BG on track. Thanks so much!

  3. Pingback: My Weekly Menu For 9/5/2010 « Grace2882's Weblog

  4. I’ve never had the LC tortillas.
    Perhaps it’s time I did.
    Looks great!

  5. I buy low carb tortillas at wal-mart…they are very versatile! I am going to make this today!

  6. this recipe is fantastic! I was looking for a good healthy comfort food for the cold night, this hit the spot. since I’m just cooking for two, I used 1 lb. 93% lean meat, and still used the 15 oz. can tomato sauce.not too much liquid. I also put some meat sauce in casserole dish topped with two low carb tortilla’s and finished the sauce, cheese, layers. BIG HIT! thank you!

Leave a Reply

