Sausage Stuffed Green Peppers

I loved this recipe. I have been taking it to work with me this week for lunch. Mike didn’t try it. He did take a look at it though. I think the green peppers did him in. Luckily he had lots of leftovers in the fridge to choose from. I plan on making this again even if he won’t eat it. This makes an excellent lunch item as it makes 8 servings. 

Isn’t that pretty? I was so pleased with this one. It not only tasted great but it was beautiful too. LOL

The original recipe came from the Taste of Home Favorite Brand Name cookbook. I only changed a couple of things in this to make it low carb. I highly suggest slicing your own mozzarella cheese to use on this instead of getting the presliced available at the grocery store. It really did make a big difference in the flavor of the cheese.

What you see on the plate below was what I had for dinner. I had broiled asparagus with parmesan cheese as a side dish and for dessert I had Keylime Cheesecake. When I tested my glucose levels 2 hours later it was only 84.  This recipe is a keeper.

http://grace2882.wordpress.com/2010/04/06/broiled-asparagus-with-parmesan-cheese/

http://grace2882.wordpress.com/2008/11/16/key-lime-cheesecake/

Sausage Stuffed Green Peppers

  • 4 medium green peppers
  • 1 Tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1.5 pound sweet Italian pork sausage, casing removed
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano leaves
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 16 ounce jar of ragu original pasta sauce (this is what I have found to be the lowest in carbs)
  • Slices of mozzarella cheese

Cut a thin slice from the top of each pepper, cut in half lenghtwise and discard the seeds and white membranes.

Place the pepper shells in a 13x9x2 inchshallow baking dish or cake pan and set them aside.

Heat the oil in a skillet and add the sausage. Cook until the meat is well browned. Add the oregano and onion and cook until the onion is tender. Pour off any fat.

Spoon the sausage mixture into the pepper  shells. Pour pasta sauce over the peppers. Add slices of mozzarella cheese to top and press down into meat mixture. Cover and bake at 400 degrees for 40 minutes ot until the sausage is cooked through and peppers are tender.

Makes 8 servings.

8 responses to “Sausage Stuffed Green Peppers

  1. I CANT WAIT TO TRY THIS TODAY, THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS WITH THE WORLD, I ALSO KNOW YOUR SWEET MOTHER, GOD BLESS YOU, LORI

    • Hello Lori. My mother told me that you made this last night and your family enjoyed it. I am so glad. I hope that you are able to find more recipes that you enjoy and that keep your son’s glucose levels down. If there are any items types of food that he loves and you are looking for an alternative to the high carb version just let me know and I will try to help you find a recipe that he can live with.

  2. Hey Grace! Just wanted to let you know that I’m making this as I type :) It smells heavenly!! Thank you :)

  3. We have done this with the thin sliced Philly type steak and onions and provolone cheese. I never thought of doing it with italian sausage and sauce… soon on my list though…. excellent!! thank you

  4. I’m so excited to try this tonight!!

Leave a Reply

