Bacon Wrapped Cornish Hens

This recipe was a keeper. I got the recipe from a crockpot website and changed it a bit to make it in the oven instead. The reason being is that if you make it with the bacon on it in the crockpot the bacon does not get crispy and you have to discard it instead of eating it. I wanted to eat the bacon too so I changed it to make in the oven. The original recipe came from here.

http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2008/10/crockpot-bacon-wrapped-cornish-game.html

When you make things in the crockpot you have to add more spices than you do in the oven because the crockpot weakens them. Therefore I had to use few spices to adapt this to my oven.

Isn’t this beautiful?

I made stuffing using the dry stuffing mixes that you can get. I did not use stovetop stuffing. I know it has carbs in it but considering that this hen above was split between my husband and I it allowed me to have about 1/3 cup of stuffing. I had this with the Broiled Asparagus with Parmesan recipe and when I tested two hours later my glucose was only 91.

Bacon Wrapped Cornish Hens

  • 2 Cornish Game Hens, thawed
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon rosemary
  • 6 slices of bacon

If you choose to stuff your hens as I did you need to make the stuffing and place inside of the bird first. Then make a rub using the spices above and rub all over the hens. Place bacon all over the top and sides and place into a roasting pan with a lid. Bake at 350 degrees for 60 minutes with the lid on. Cut in half and serve. Makes 4 servings

For a stuffing that is lower in carbs you can make this recipe.

http://grace2882.wordpress.com/2008/11/28/sausage-and-mushroom-stuffing/

4 responses to “Bacon Wrapped Cornish Hens

  1. I really love this recipe. My family will really enjoy this. Thanks for sharing.

  2. just want to thank you for sharing all your wonderful recipes with us.

Leave a Reply

