Blackberry Cobbler

I was so excited when I came up with this one. For weeks I have eyed the blackberries at the store and finally took the plunge and bought them. My dentist hates it when I eat berries but I can’t refrain. I love berries.

I took a cookie recipe from this blog and modified it a bit to make this cobbler. This cobbler won’t be the heavy breading gooey type of cobbler that you remember from childhood but I think if you mash the berries a bit and let them sit in the splenda for a bit you may get that texture more than I did. I bought more berries and will try it again this week. I will let you know.

Want to take a closer look?

Want to see it in a bowl?

Want whipped cream on it?

Now we must stop and talk about portion control when eating this. Do you see the little pyrex custard cup dish that I have mine in? That is the perfect serving for one person. I use these little bowls regularly to help me stay accountable to myself. Using the desert bowls that came with my dishes makes it just too easy to eat too large of a serving.

Blackberry Cobbler with Pecans

  • 12 ounces of fresh blackberries (frozen would work too but would not taste as fresh)
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup Splenda, divided
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • additional splenda to sprinkle on top

In a bowl mix berries with 1/4 cup Splenda and put in the bottom of a 2 quart casserole dish. 

In a mixing bow, cream the butter, 1/4 cup splenda, and vanilla. Combine the almond flour, coconut flour and salt. Add to creamed mixture.

Using your hands break off bits of the dough and place over top of berries. Add pecans to top and bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes. Remove from oven and sprinkle with additional Splenda. Serve warm or cold. Add heavy whipping cream if desired.

*** You may use all Almond Flour in this if you so choose.  It is a matter of taste.

Leave a Reply

