Macaroons with Blackberry Jelly

A few weeks ago I began following a blog that I dearly love. The recipes are not low carb or even sugar-free but I enjoy the way the writer shares her loves and family. She has traveled to different countries and the way she shares her memories of having lived there makes it seem as if I have actually been there myself and makes me want to go back again.

A couple of weeks ago she shared her macaroons with plum jelly and I knew that I could easily convert it to low carb and the results were wonderful. You can see her original recipe here.

http://homewarming.wordpress.com/2010/06/21/coconut-macaroons/#comment-480

I used a low carb sugar-free blackberry and put about 1/4 teaspoon of jelly in the center of each macaroon after they had been baked.

When you mix these you will feel as if they are not going to form a macaroon. You have to dig in with your hands and squeeze the mixture to form a dough and place on gently on the baking sheet. It will work.

For Macaroons

  • 2 cups unsweetened coconut
  • 1/3 cup splenda
  • 2 egg whites
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 Tablespoons of Coconut Flour
  • 3 Tablespoons Virgin Coconut Oil, melted
  • Sugar Free Blackberry Jam

Using my kitchenaid mixer I whisked the egg whites, sugar and vanilla until frothy. Using a spatula mix in the remaining ingredients except for jam. Using your hands form into macaroon shapes and place on greased baking sheet. Bake at 325 degree for 20-25 minutes. Top with 1/4 sugar free jam. Keep in refrigerator in a sealed container.

2 responses to “Macaroons with Blackberry Jelly

  1. Wow… this is definitely the healthier version. You did such a great job and I really wanna try this update version.
    Thanks for mention my blog :)

    • You are very welcome. My sister went to the store after work to get the ingredients to make these herself. You have inspired so many. Thanks for sharing on your blog.

Leave a Reply

