Beer Chicken with Vegetables

Two weeks ago I bought a new toy from QVC and am in love with this. While men can purchase items for their cars and call it a toy I think my toys consist of new items to use in the kitchen. Mike was outside mowing the lawn so I was taking the time to relax and knit. I turned on QVC just to have noise in the room. When Mike came in he teased me about watching QVC and asked what I had purchased. I laughed and told him nothing but at that same moment the next item came on the screen and both Mike and I went whoaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. I had to purchase this item and since I love to cook on the grill it will be heavily used.

This pan can be used on the stove top, grill or in the oven. It has an insert that you can use to roast chickens. The pan can also be put into the dishwasher. I bought this in red and worried about the black from the grill not coming off easily and staining it but there was no worry. I roasted my chicken in it for 70 minutes and it came perfectly clean. Not a spot of black or blemish was left on it. I love love love this pan and the recipe.

This is the direct link to the pan on QVC if you so feel the desire to purchase this pan as well. I can not speak highly enough of this pan.

http://www.qvc.com/qic/qvcapp.aspx/view.2/app.detail/params.CM_SCID.coll.item.K28534.desc.Technique-Flame-12-Covd-Casserole-wRemovable-Roasting-Insert

Pan with insert in it.

Vegetables added to center of insert.

Beer added to center of insert.

There is a tall insert that goes up inside of the chicken that fits into the center of the insert to hold the chicken upright. This is the chicken once it has been dried with paper towels, brushed with oil and had the seasonings added to it.  I added the extra spices that were left over to the vegetables that were in the bottom. I also poured the rest of the beer over the vegetables as well.

This is after I had it on the grill at 350 degrees for about 70 minutes.

A close up of the veggies.

Now for the recipe. I topped the vegetables with shredded mozzarella cheese and this was delicious. We had enough for 4 meals.

Beer Chicken with Carmelized Veggies

  • 5-6 pound chicken
  • 2 Tablespoons splenda
  • 2 Tablespoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon dry mustard powder
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 2 Tablespoons kosher salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground black pepper
  • 12 ounce bottle of bud light (this is low in carbs)
  • 2 onions, sliced into rings
  • 2 green peppers, sliced
  • 2 yellow peppers, sliced
  • mozzarella cheese, shredded to top vegetables on your plate

Clean the chicken by removing the giblets, rinsing with water and drying with paper towels. Brush the chicken with the oil. Make a rub by combining the splenda, paprika, mustard powder, chili powder, salt and pepper. Rub the mixture over the chicken, inside and out.

Place beer into the center well of the insert of pan. Add vegetables to outer part of pan. Place remaining spices into beer and over vegetables. Also add remaining beer in bottle to the vegetables to add moisture to help them to carmelize.

Place chicken onto tall insert and stand into well.

Preheat grill to 350 degrees. My grill has three burners inside it. I turned the two outer burners on and turned the center one off. I placed the pan in the center of the grill and closed the grill lid. This allowed the grill to remain at a steady 350 degrees.

Every 15 minutes I turned the vegetables over and then closed the lid again. After about 75 minutes the chicken was done. If you feel your vegetables are getting too dry you can add chicken broth or additional beer. I did not feel that I needed any for mine.

Allow the chicken to sit on the stand in the pan for about five minutes once you remove it from the grill. Carefully remove the chicken from the pan and place on serving platter. Add mozzarella cheese to the vegetables and place on the grill to melt. Serve immediately.

 

3 responses to “Beer Chicken with Vegetables

  1. What an interesting way to cook chicken! It looks so delicious!
    Thanks for sharing,
    Tes

  2. I am a little confused by this recipe because I know that beer has carbs in it. The recipe sounds delicious though but am concerned about the carbs since we have cut them back to only good carbs and no pasta or bread etc.

Leave a Reply

