Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins

Yes these are low carb and they are amazing. My sister called me from Aldi’s back at Christmas and said she had found unsweetened chocolate chips at Aldi’s that were also low carb. I had her buy me 6 packages and I put them in my freezer and left them there. Then last week I had to go in early to work and happened to swing past the hospital cafeteria. I saw chocolate muffins that I really wished that I could eat but I was strong and did not cheat on my health.

Instead I came home and figured out how to make my own low carb muffins. These came out to about 3 carbs each. If I  have 2 of these and a low carb yogurt my breakfast is only 10 carbs. I can definitely live with that.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins

  • 12 ounces cream cheese, soft
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup Splenda, sugar substitute
  • 6 Tablespoons cocoa (I used Hershey’s)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 ½ cupsBlanched Almond Meal Flour
  • 1 cup unprocessed wheat bran
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • ½ cup chopped english walnuts
  • 2/3 cup sugar free chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Lightly grease a 12-cup muffin pan (heavy-gauge metal is best). You can also use muffin liners.

Put cream cheese and two eggs in the bowl of an electric mixer. Beat with a flat beater until smooth and fluffy. Add the other eggs one at a time, beating briefly after each. On slow speed, stir in the rest of the ingredients except the english walnuts and chocolate chips. When mixture is well blended, stir in the english walnuts and chocolate chips.

Fill each muffin pan almost to the top. (The muffins will rise only slightly.) Bake muffins for about 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown. These muffins freeze very well. Thaw at room temperature. Each muffin has 3 carbs. Makes 12 muffins.

14 responses to “Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Looks delicious!

    So these chocolate chips are actually unsweetened? Like pure baker’s chocolate?

    • The brand is Bakers Corner and they are in little tiny disk shapes that equal about the same size as a chocolate chip. The front of tha package says Unsweetened baking chocolate. I have seen other sugar free chocolate chips that are usuable too at our local healthy market section at Drug Emporium. You might want to try online or at a healthy market type of store locally.

  2. these look incredable -thanks Janice

  3. Wal Mart has SF Hershey’s Choc Chips right now. I really need to make these muffins and soon!

    • Oh this sounds wonderful. By any chance did you look at the carb count on these? Aldi’s doesn’t have them yet this season. I may need to go to Walmart for these.

  4. These look so good! I am adding them to my baking list for this weekend.Thank you for sharing your recipes and photos! I am impressed. :)

  5. These look so good, where can I find unprocessed wheat bran?

    • I find it at Krogers in the healthy food section and at Drug Emporium. If you can’t find it in the stores you can buy it through my Amazon store on the side of this blog. It is very inexpensive. :)

  6. Just made these muffins and they are wonderful. Will eat them for breakfast, snack or dessert. Plan on keeping some of these in the freezer and they will be so nice just to grab one and be on the go.
    Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe.
    Carolyn

    • I am so glad that you liked them. When I make these I make 2 batches. I keep one in the freezer and one in the fridge. It really saves times on the weekend. :)

  7. Melody Chakerian

    Where do you get sugar-free chocolate chips? Are they sweetened?

    • I bought them at Aldi’s around Christmas time and froze them. Since then I have not been able to find that particular brand but I do use the Nestle Dark Chocolate Chips. They are very low in carbs and considering how little go into making 12 muffins it adds less than a carb per muffin. :)

  8. where do you get the almond meal flour

    • You can get it in the healthy section of most grocery stores. I prefer to buy it online because I prefer the Honeyville brand. You can get it in my store to the side. If you choose to get it in the store you will most likely find the Red Bob Mill’s brand. It is very good but the Honeyville produces a more breadlike texture. Welcome to the blog. :)

Leave a Reply

