Turkey Enchiladas

Mike and I loved these. These weren’t as rich as the first ones but they are healthier and lower in carbs. Mike preferred these than the first recipe for enchiladas. I figure that is because he is not a big fan of cream cheese and these don’t have it.

These are very quick to make and I had it with a side salad of mixed salad greens, avocado and roma tomato. I had a slice of pumpkin pie for dessert and with all of this my glucose was only 83 two hours after I ate. I tested two evenings in a row after having the same meal and both times it was 83. YES!!!! This is a keeper and so is the pumpkin pie recipe. I will add it to the blog tomorrow.

Turkey Enchiladas

  • 1 Tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 green pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1.5 pounds ground turkey
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 16-ounce jar of Kroger’s Fire roasted Enchiladas Sauce
  • 8 ounces shredded cheddar cheese
  • 6 low carb tortillas
  • 1 bag salad mix
  • 2 roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 avocado sliced

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Heat oil in large skillet and add green peppers and onion. Cook until soft and then add ground turkey. Cook until completely cooked. Add 1/2 cup of the enchilada sauce and chili powder and stir thoroughly.

Remove from heat. Spoon 1/3 cup of the filling into a tortilla shell and roll. Place seam side down in a baking dish.  When you have all of the tortilla shells filled top with remaining enchilada sauce and then top with cheddar cheese. Cover with foil and bake for 20 minutes. Serve hot with side salad of lettuce, tomatoes and avocado.

2 responses to “Turkey Enchiladas

  1. The cream cheese in the first recipe is what made it appeal to me so much! I always like really rich foods, so maybe that’s why.

    That avocado-topped salad actually made my mouth water. Yum!

  2. I have referred yet another friend to your blog…Girl you look great!

Leave a Reply

