Salisbury Steak with Onion Gravy

This was amazingly good. We had this for 2 nights and there was nothing left of this. Mike and I both gave this a very high score. I always ask Mike to rate the food on a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best. There is only one dish that Mike has ever given a 10 to and that I will be sharing next week with you. This recipe he gave a 9 and I gave a 10. I was a bit worried that it would spike my glucose but I ate it with green beans and blueberry cobbler with whipped topping and 2 hours after I ate I tested and my glucose was only 86. This recipe is a keeper.

Salisbury Steak with Onion Gravy

  • 1 egg
  • 1 can (10 1/2 ounces) condensed French Onion Soup, undiluted, divided
  • 1/2 cup dry bread crumbs
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • pinch of pepper
  • 1 1/2 pounds ground beef
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup low sugar Heinz ketchup
  • 1 teaspoon worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon prepared mustard
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour (I used wheat)
  • 2 tablespoons water

In a large bowl, beat egg. Stire in 1/3 cup of soup, bread crumbs, salt and pepper. Crumble beef over mixture, mix gently. Shape into six oval patties.

In a skillet, brown patties over medium heat for 3-4 minutes on each side. Remove and set aside, drain. Add the water, ketchup, worcestershire sauce, mustard and remaining soup to skillet. Bring to a boil. Return patties to skillet. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 15 minutes. Remove patties.

Combine flour and cold water until smooth. Stir into pan. Broil to a boil, cook and stir until thickened. Pour gravy over patties and serve. Serves 6.

This came out to 10 carbs per serving. I know it is a little on the high side but if you keep your side dishes to low carb ones you can easily manage this in your meal of less than 20 carbs. You can also lower the amount of bread crumbs and lower the carb count that way as well. It really shouldn’t drastically change the taste of the recipe.

7 responses to “Salisbury Steak with Onion Gravy

  1. So yesterday I spilled coffee into my keyboard of my beloved netbook, Nellie. Today I am using Pete’s laptop for my job (and obviously to read blogs – lol.) Maybe not for long, though, if I keep drooling on it…:)

    This looks AMAZING! Can’t wait to make it myself! Looks like it could be one of your best!

  2. Thank you for this recipe. I made it tonight for dinner and my husband loved it as did I. I will definitely be making this time and time again.

  3. You are very welcome. I made this for a dinner party and everyone loved it too. I was very pleased. No one noticed it was low carb and my son took the recipe home with him. :)

  4. I have been making this recipe for years! It is my go to recipe for meals to take to friends when they’ve had a baby, mom is sick, etc. Folks always ask for the recipe. I have been wondering how to make it low carb/no carb. Didn’t know about the Heinz ketchup. Wondering if using crushed pork rinds would work for the bread crumbs….. Will have to try that! Thanks for your site!

    • I am sure that you could use pork rinds but I found that the little bit of bread crumbs in this dish didn’t spike my glucose at all. If you are more sensitive than I would definitely try the pork rinds instead. :)

  5. I just came across this site on Pinterest. Love the recipes and cannot wait to try them. I have been looking for something easy as I work a lot of hours. Thanks for you time you put in doing this.

Leave a Reply

