Pizza Potroast

This is something that my family has eaten for many years and love. My daughter has always requested it whenever she comes to town. This is the only recipe that my husband has ever given a ten to in his ratings. 

I don’t make it often because at 13 carbs per serving it is on my higher end. You can make it lower in carbs by not having much of the sauce on it. If you try making it with cheddar cheese instead of cheddar cheese soup you can lower the carbs even more. I do plan on trying it soon with the cheddar cheese instead of the soup and see what my husband has to say about it. It would be healthier and if I can get away with it, it would make it only 7 carbs per serving. I will let you know how it goes.

I had mine with Asparagus with Parmesan Cheese from this recipe.

http://grace2882.wordpress.com/2010/04/06/broiled-asparagus-with-parmesan-cheese/

First of all I want to give a warning here. You have to make this in a metal pan. Do not use a glass dish. The dish will explode after you take it out of the oven. I don’t know why the glass dish explodes but I lost two dishes that way. It was devastating to smell the wonderful aroma of it cooking and then have to scrap it off the floor and throw it in the trash because there is now slivers of glass in it.

Pizza Potroast

  • 3 pound pot roast
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon dried minced onion
  • 1 can condensed cheddar cheese soup
  • 1 16-ounce can tomato sauce
  • 1 8-ounce can mushrooms, undrained
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon basil

Place roast in a METAL pan and season with salt and pepper. Bake at 450 degrees til browned. Drain off drippings and combine remaining ingredients. Pour mixture over roast and seal tightly with foil or a lid on pan. Return to oven at 325 degrees and bake for 2 1/2 hours.

12 responses to “Pizza Potroast

  1. I am loving your recipes and am so glad I came upon your blog!! Congrats on your new WOE. In regards to the glass casserole, I am thinking that the shattering may have something to do with the high temperature. I don’t think it is meant to be used at 450 degrees. I believe that I read that on one of my Pyrex inserts. But, some of my Pyrex feel thinner/lighter than other glass pans I have so maybe it is dependent on that.

    • This might very well be true Kellinkc. I believed that I had used corningware baking dishes as well but I am sure that they are very similar to pyrex. If you use the metal pan with this recipe you won’t go wrong. This is a very good recipe. Thank you for visiting the blog.

  2. Yvonne Morrison

    How many servings is this recipe?I put mine in the slow cooker and couldn’t resist trying a bit and it tastes AMAZING!!!Yummy! I could eat the whole thing plus the smells are incredible!Thanks again for the wonderful recipe ideas,everything looks amazing and will be trying a lot more recipes from you!!! :)

    • I figure 1/4 pound of meat per serving. So look at what size your roast is and gauge by that. I am glad that you liked it. I think the flavor of the spices taste better when done in the oven but I have made it in the slow cooker when I am having a busy work week. :)

      • The roast was amazing and i also made your cream cheese brownies which were also amazing.I love a little something sweet and love brownies so these were great!!Thanks again for the wonderful recipe ideas.Have a great day!

      • I am so glad that you enjoyed both recipes. :)

        That pot roast is my favorite. It is very good with the sauce served over cooked cauliflower. :)

  3. This recipe sounds yummy. I was wondering if you had tried it without the soup or a substitute? I am trying to leave processed foods and sodium out of my diet. Just curious. :) Thanks!

    • I haven’t tried it but if you do please let me know how it turns out. I would love to know how to get the same flavor without the processed food too. :)

  4. Brittany Whittington

    How would you cook this recipe if using a crock pot? Or is that even an option?

    • I have actually tried making it in a slow cooker and it was no where near as good. The spices lost their flavor and the sauce became watery. If you can come up with a way to make it and it have the same pizza flavor in the slow cooker I would love it. :)

  5. Brittany Whittington

    You mentioned in this blog that you would use regular cheddar cheese instead of the cheddar soup to lower the Carb count. How exactly would you modify the recipe to do this? Thanks!

    • Oh I am sorry that it took so long to answer you. I have been working 15 hour days lately. I would suggest trying 1 1/2 cups of cheese but if it was too thick adding less next time. I have not tried this so it is just a guess.

Leave a Reply

