Low Carb Cranberry Sauce

Have I already mentioned a thousand times that I love cranberries? Well, I do. When I found a blog that had a pumpkin cheesecake and made a cranberry sauce to go over it I was in heaven. The only problem was that cranberries weren’t in the stores yet. I had to patiently, well not so patiently, wait for them to arrive. I practically danced in the grocery store last week when I found cranberries. Now is when you need to stockup on cranberries. They freeze well to be used for the remainder of the year.

Low Carb Dude was where I found the recipe.

I made the recipe exactly as he wrote it. I plan to add a bit more Splenda to it next time. This recipe was perfect for me but my son and daughter-in-law said it was still too tart for them but if it had more Splenda it would be perfect.

Just as he did I served mine over the Pumpkin Cheese Cake.

Cranberry Sauce

  • 1 12-ounce bag of cranberries
  • 1 cup Splenda or other sugar substitute
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves

Cook at medium-high heat stirring constantly for 5-10 minutes. (5-6 minutes is usually plenty.) You’ll notice the cranberries will pop and the mixture will thicken substantially. Cool and place in refrigerator for several hours until set. You can use this as cranberry sauce for use with turkey or chicken dishes, or use it as a dessert topping. It goes beautifully with this cheesecake recipe!

3 responses to “Low Carb Cranberry Sauce

  1. That looks great! and that last pic is just beautiful! Love it!

    PS – Thanks for adding me to your blogroll. I will do the same. :)

  2. Knowing you love cranberries, just had to share this recipe I found at Jamie Cooks It Up! It is Cranberry Cream Cheese Dip. Thought this sounded
    really great! We have cranberries for $.99 at Aldi’s. I am stocking up!
    Working hard on cooking without carbs and sugar.

    Susan

Leave a Reply

