Poppy Seed Dressing

I realized that I had never added a salad dressing recipe to the blog. That isn’t because I didn’t try any it is just that I never liked any that I tried. That is until now. I have found one that I dearly LOVE. It was so easy to make too.

You need to get out your trusty blender for this one folks. I can’t believe how easy this one was. I served it over a salad that I had topped with Blackened Chicken and added cheddar cheese. I enjoyed it so much that I had it for 3 different meals last week.

Poppy Seed Dressing

  • 1/2 cup Splenda
  • 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon dry ground mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried minced onion
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons poppy seeds

In a blender place sugar, vinegar, dry mustard, onion and salt. Blend on medium for 2 minutes.

Increase speed to high and slowly add oil in a thin, steady stream until completely absorbed. Pour mixture into a bowl or one of these containers that I bought at Walmart and then add poppy seeds mixing until just combined.

Chill thoroughly before serving. Serves 6 if you are doing a very large salad as I did above.

This container is wonderful to store the dressing in the fridge. It has a mixer built into the lid that will help you to reblend it a bit if it separates some.

Nutritional information: Calories- 328.7, Fat- 37.8 grams, Cholesterol- 0, Sodium- 387.9mg, Potassium- 22.2mg, Carbohydrate- 2.3grams (Dietary Fiber-0.2grams, Sugars- 0.9 grams)

9 responses to “Poppy Seed Dressing

  1. I’m so excited about this! Poppy seed dressing has been my favorite ever since I first had it in the college dorm dining hall and is one of the things I have missed! Hopefully I’ll be able to eat salads again and if I do I will DEFINITELY have this with it!

    • I am so glad that you like this one. I have no doubt that you will eventually be well again. I have faith in this. :)

  2. I love the idea of making my own and poppy seed is my favorite dressing! I’ve never used Splenda and my doctor won’t let me use it. Does it add a lot of body to the dressing? Would honey be an acceptable substitute?

    Thanks for sharing!!

    • I don’t recommend using honey. This blog is for low carb and Diabetic friendly recipes. Using honey would raise the carb count and also raise my glucose levels significantly. I suggest using another sugar replacement item such as truvia or stevia if you don’t want to use Splenda. It really doesn’t work as a thickener as it does something to sweeten the taste. As a Diabetic the honey just won’t work with my body.

  3. Love the container and the recipe!! Is the container something that is available to the general public? Hopefully Walmart-we are so rural!!

    Thanks for your blog-love it!

    • I am sorry it took me so long to answer you. I bought the container at Home Goods. I loved it so much that I bought 3 and gave the other 2 to my daughter and daughter-in-law. I did a search on Amazon and found it on there too. Gravy Boat at Amazon. I only paid $4 for mine so you might want to look around a bit before getting it on Amazon. I would NEVER pay $11 for it. :)

    • I kept looking and found it for $6 at Crate and Barrel.

  4. Thanks so much for the reply-it was the mixer container I am hoping to find! we dont have a Home Goods-so I will start looking elsewhere! thanks much!

    • Ohhh. The mixer container came from Walmart. I am not sure if they still carry it but it wasn’t very expensive either. Good luck. :)

Leave a Reply

