Almond Vanilla Wafers

These are officially my favorite cookies. I am already thinking of new ways to adapt these to make different flavors of cookies. I found a big difference when I used Almond Flour from Bob’s Red Mills and Almond Flour from Honeyville. The flour from Honeyville made the texture of the cookies more cookie like than the Bob’s Red Mills. I also used my kitchenaide mixer and noticed a much fluffier cookie than when I used a hand mixer.

Almond Vanilla Wafer Cookies

  • ½ cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup Splenda
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tablespoon pure Vanilla Extract
  • 1 1/3 cups ground almond flour
  • ¾ teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt

 In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Beat in egg and vanilla. Combine dry ingredients; add to creamed mixture and mix well.

 Drop by teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart onto cookie sheet that has been covered with parchment paper. Bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes or until edges are golden brown. Remove to a wire rack to cool.

 Yield about 2 dozen cookies

Nutritional information per cookie- 67.4 calories. Carbohydrates 2.1 gram (.6 gram- fiber, 0.2 grams sugars).

Net carb per cookie- 1.3

7 responses to “Almond Vanilla Wafers

  1. These sound real similar to a lowcarb shortbread cookie I’ve seen also, except for all the vanilla! Vanilla wafers and shortbreads are my 2 favorites with snickerdoodles a close 3rd. Isn’t it GRAND that we can eat cookies and stay healthy? :)
    Thanks for posting this, I planned to bake with Leelan tonight but hadn’t decided yet what to make until I read it!

  2. These look really yummy! I’m with ChiaOwl…Vanilla wafers and shortbreads are my favorites with snickerdoodles a close 3rd!!

    I wanted you to know I tried the grilled parmesan zucchini – WOW! I’m in love!

  3. where do you by the almond flour from honeyville on line or somewhere is wv I live in so charleston

    • You can get the honeyville almond flour through my webstore on the side. Just click on it there. I can’t find it locally at all. I buy it in bulk and it freezes well. I live in WV too and can only find the Bob Red Mills flour locally. I have found that the Bob Red Mills is also cheaper bought the my Amazon store on the right. It is cheaper than Drug Emporium and Krogers. If you can find the Honeyville anywhere locally that beats the amazon price please let me know. :)

    • Honeyville and Bobs red mill both have almond flour, however I get mine from Nuts.com. It is cheaper, and they also have lots more baking supplies, nuts, and yummies! They also have sugar free chocolates.

      • I will have to check them out. I have gotten my family addicted to the muffins and we go through a lot of them. :) Thank you.

  4. I have often gotten the “fine ground almond meal” at clnf.org – can’t beat the price – also have gotten the pecan meal as well.
    It isn’t ground quite as finely as some of the others, with more of a corn meal texture – but soft – than a flour texture, but it has always worked just fine for whatever recipe I have used it in. (If I were making delicate cakes or something that might be different…cookies, coatings, pancakes, breads, etc. – all great result!)
    $18 for 5# ($3.60/lb) or $71.25 for 25# ($2.85/lb.) – plus shipping of course…
    In fact they have LOTS of great stuff there…

Leave a Reply

