Cauliflower Sausage Casserole

This recipe is a keeper. It reminded me of 2 different recipes. One was an old favorite of hashbrown casserole and another of Corn beef hash that I used to get at Golden Coral many years ago. The difference is this one doesn’t have potatoes in it and it is much lower in carbs.  I am putting this in the breakfast category but we had it for dinner and it was also wonderful for that.

I had to make two batches of this. One for me and one for Mike. His batch had potatoes and mine had finely chopped cauliflower. You will need to break out the food processor for this one to get the cauliflower into such small pieces.  If you have someone in the house who doesn’t eat low carb this little two sided casserole dish comes in handy.

Cauliflower Sausage Casserole

  • 1 pound sage breakfast sausage
  • 1 can condensed cream of chicken soup
  • 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 teaspoon dried onion, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 small head cauliflower, finely chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly spray a 1.5 quart casserole dish with vegetable spray.

Brown sausage in a large skillet and drain grease.  Stir together the soup, heavy whipping cream, water, onion, salt and pepper in a bowl.

Place chopped cauliflower in bottom of casserole dish. Top with sausage and then top with soup mixture. Cover with foil and bake for 1 hour. Remove foil and top with cheese. Return to oven for 5 minutes to melt cheese and serve. Serves 6.

Nutritional Information- Calories- 265, Carbohydrates- 7.14 (fiber- .96, Sugars- 1.51)

Net Carbs- 6.18 per serving

17 responses to “Cauliflower Sausage Casserole

  1. This looks delicious! I was reading Mom the ingredients and we decided that this was something I should make. Soon!! haha.

    Lori S.

    • You will love it. It reminds me of things that I ate before I began low carbing. Come back and let me know what you and your mom thought of it. :)

  2. THANK YOU Grace! Ever since you posted about making this a couple of weeks ago, I have been thinking about this, it sound so good. I love your cauliflower au gratin dish, matter of fact I made it yesterday, so I am going to try this as soon as I eat up all the cauliflower casserole I have now.

    • You are very welcome Paula. I told my husband that I had to get it posted today just for you! Let me know what you think after you try it. :)

  3. thank you, that is very sweet!

  4. I have this in the oven right now :) I had to use italian sausage, but it sure smells good! Made it for lunches for the next few days. Thanks again for your recipes!

  5. I’m so glas I found your site. Lots of great recipes and inspiring story. I would love it if you could give the amount of protein in the recipes. Thanks, and congratulations on you weight loss.

    • I can start adding the protein from now on but I have too many recipes to go back and add them at this time. The new cookbook that is coming out soon does have the protein listed on each recipe. :)

      • How do I purchase your cookbook? I can’t find it on here anywhere… :)

      • I have written it but I haven’t had it released yet. I need to come up with additional financing for it and with the divorce it just isn’t in the cards for me at this time. :(

  6. I made a hybrid of this recipe with your Italian Chicken breast recipe. Instead of chicken I used pork chop cutlets that were on sale. A bed of chopped cauliflower in a 9×13, laid 4 seasoned pork chops staggered aside eachother atop that, topped with cooked turkey breakfast sausage, and poured in the soup mix to which I added another 1 1/4 cups of water to. Bake it covered for an hour and then top with cheddar cheese and return to oven till it’s melt. I made it the original way at first and I liked it a lot but thought it could stand an upgrade to an more substantial meal. :-)

    • I am very glad to read what you did and enjoyed. I love it when people share the changes that they make to a recipe. :)

  7. This was amazing! Maybe a little salty for me, so next time I’ll leave out the 1/2 tsp of salt. I’m going to try this with chicken someday, too. Thanks for sharing this recipe :D

  8. I made your Cauliflower Sausage Casserole tonight for dinner. We both liked it. I thought I would start Bill out on it since he is picky & I was surprised when he cleaned his plate. we have enough for tomorrow also. I want to try your Roasted Cauliflower With Sausage & Tomato next. Keep the Recipes coming.

    • I am glad that you both liked it. I made the Roasted Cauliflower with Sausage and Tomato tonight for dinner and I added cheddar cheese to it. It was even better. I know you will both like it. Let me know. :)

Leave a Reply

