Bacon, Guacamole Grilled Cheese

A few weeks ago I saw a sandwich online that made me go “OOOOOOHHH”. The problem was it wasn’t low carb so I had to adapt this. I know this sounds totally strange but I doubt that I can ever go back to eating a plain grilled cheese sandwich again. This was awesome!

You will only need 1/4 of the guacamole per sandwich.

Bacon, Guacamole, Grilled Cheese

  • 2 strips bacon
  • 2 slices low carb bread (I use Heiner’s 35 wheat but Wonder Smart Wheat is also an excellent choice)
  • 1 avocado
  • 4 Tablespoons salsa
  • 2 slices cheese- your choice (American, Monterey Jack, Smoked Cheddar)

Remove the avocado from the shell and discard the pit. Smash the avocado with the bottom of a glass and add the salsa. Mix well. Keep 1/4 of mixture and refrigerate the rest.

In a nonstick pan fry bacon until crisp. Remove from heat and set aside. Drain grease from the pan.

In the pan add 1 Tablespoon of bacon grease to the pan. Layer your sandwich bread, cheese, bacon, guacamole, cheese, bread. Put into pan and grill on one side until toasted. Turn sandwich and grill opposite side. Serves 1.

Nutritional information: Calories- 555.95, Carbohydrates- 21.72 (fiber- 5.19, sugars- 4.99), Protein- 23.07

Net Carbs- 16.53

2 responses to “Bacon, Guacamole Grilled Cheese

  1. Mmmmm all my favorites! You’ve given me a great idea for breakfast tomorrow morning – thanks Grace!

    • I love guacamole and since giving up the chips that I used to eat with it I have had to get creative. :)

Leave a Reply

