Taking Things For Granted

I have learned a few things over the past few weeks. I have learned that everything always changes but sometimes it is good and sometimes it can be bad. You have to take the good with the bad. You never know what kind of stress you can handle until you are faced with a situation where you don’t have a choice but to go with the flow.

Of course if the flow is WV water you want to avoid it. The news are reporting that yesterday International Freedom (chemical company that caused the leak) released the name of another chemical that was also released on January 9th. It would have been nice had we been informed of this additional chemical when it first occurred. They have been told that they have until 4:00 today to release the names of all chemicals involved in the leak earlier this month.

As a consumer of this water I would have appreciated knowing what was in the water prior to them telling us that the water was safe to consume and bath in. I for one am not consuming the water. I am having my son bring me fresh water for myself and for the hounds. I have started bathing in it and using it to was dishes and laundry.  I can’t help but think that the citizens of WV are going to be having long term health problems as a result of this chemical leak.  I have definitely taken for granted having fresh water to drink and bathe in. It is amazing how you don’t realize it until it is no longer there.

When I got my divorce on the 9th I changed my name back to my maiden name. I had no idea how many things that I had to get changed as a result of changing my name. When I went to the bank to get my name changed on it I was told they had to cancel my debit card in order to get a new one in my new name. I withdrew some cash to hold me over until I received my new debit card but I had no idea how convenient it is to have the debit card. I missed it at the gas pumps when I needed to refill my tank. I HATED having to go into the stores to pay for the gas. I have definitely taken having my debit card for granted.

Things are changing quickly for me. I am in the process of packing for the move. When I know things for certain I will share with everyone. One thing is for sure is there will be a lot of pictures and remodeling posts in the future. I have found a home and am praying that I am able to get it. The inspectors haven’t gone yet to do their thing so hopefully nothing horrible will be found. The one thing that I fell in love with is the kitchen. I can see me making many healthy low carb meals in that kitchen. Please say a little prayer that if this home is God’s will for me to have that it works out for me. I have also taken having a home for granted. I will never do that again. I have learned that everything can change very quickly but sometimes it is for the best.

4 responses to “Taking Things For Granted

  1. Grace: Thank you for sharing your story with us. You are such an inspiration. I am SO looking forward to your pictures and remodeling posts. Can’t wait to see a picture of your kitchen!!

    • Thank you Judy. I am getting excited about the move. If I end up getting the home I am wanting you will be surprised by the bright green family room!! Think green playdoh!! :)

  2. I absolutely agree with you about taking things for granted. Hope your water situation improves soon. I’ll pray for your new house! Sounds exciting!

    • Thank you so much. This is a very stressful time for me but I am trying to remain as positive as I can. Thank you for your prayers.

Leave a Reply

