Key Lime Cheesecake

Yesterday was a perfect day. It began with my sister coming to visit and we worked on crafts until about 1:00. Then my son, daughter-in-law and grandson came to visit. Caleb is getting so big. After Stephen took his family home to take naps my sister and brother-in-law and I left to go shopping. Since I have lost 67 pounds now I desperately needed heavy clothes. I have been freezing to death at work. None of my clothes from last winter fit me now.

I found all of my new clothes at Sears. I love that store. Their clothing is very good quality and they don’t charge a small fortune for it either.

When my family was here today I served the Ranchero Onion Burgers (also on this blog) and a new recipe that was absolutely fabulous. Caleb loved it as did all of the Diabetics present. I hope that you enjoy it too.  Usually I like to give credit to whomever created this recipe but when I did a search online for the recipe I found this exact recipe on about 20 websites so I have no idea who created it first. I did make one modification on it and I did use pecans for the crust.

 

Key Lime Cheesecake

 


Ingredients:

  • 3 Tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup ground almonds (or walnuts, or pecans)
  • 2 Tablespoons Splenda
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 1 small box (3 oz) lime sugar free gelatin
  • 2 cup heavy cream
  • 8-oz package Philadelphia Cream Cheese
  • 3 Tablespoons Key Lime Juice
  • 1 cup Splenda

For Crust: Melt butter in a pie plate. Press in ground nuts mixed with 2 Tablespoons Splenda. Let chill in refrigerator.

Meanwhile, make filling: Mix water with lime sugar free gelatin. Set in refrigerator to partially set up. In a bowl, whip heavy cream. Set aside. In a large bowl, beat cream cheese, key lime juice, and 1 cup Splenda until smooth. Very lightly mix in partially set lime gelatin. Fold in whipping cream. Pour into pie shell. Chill 2 to 3 hours.

Top with additional whipped cream if desired.

Serves 10 – Carbs per serving: 4.5

12 responses to “Key Lime Cheesecake

  1. Mmm I may have to use this recipe for the holidays! Even Easter!

  2. I wasn’t hungry till I started looking back over your recipe archive!
    You should write a book!

  3. I made the key lime cheesecake. I used a 9″ pie plate & I had enough filling for 2 pies.

  4. This looks delicious, and sooo easy. I look forward to trying it.

  5. Pingback: Thanksgiving Desserts the Low Carb Way | Susan's Musings

  6. Pingback: Getting a Start on Thanksgiving | Susan's Musings

  7. Would stevia work instead of the splenda?

    • I really don’t know. I am not a fan of Stevia but if you prefer it I say give it a try and tell us what you think. 🙂

Leave a Reply

