Low Carb Pecan Cinnamon Rolls

Last week I made Cinnamon Rolls for my husband and it made me want to find a low carb version for myself. I found one and modified it a bit and came up with what is below. I really enjoyed it and it was only 6 carbs per cinnamon roll. I hope that you enjoy these too.  The orginal recipe came from The Low-Carb Comfort Food Cookbook. I think that the original recipe had a bit too much Splenda in the filling for me and I have lowered the amount some.

Low Carb Pecan Cinnamon Rolls

½ cup very hot water

3 Tablespoons butter, soft

3 Tablespoons cold water

2 Teaspoons vanilla extract

¼ cup Splenda

1 package rapid rise yeast

1/3 cup unbleached, all-purpose white wheat flour (I use King Arthur Flour only)

¼ cup vital wheat gluten

1 ¼ cup Blanched Almond Meal Flour

½ cup protein powder (I use the vanilla flavored available at Walmart)

Pinch of salt

2 Tablespoons soy protein powder for rolling dough

 

Filling

1 Tablespoon Cinnamon (I use McCormick’s Saigon Cinnamon)

½ cup Splenda

1/3 cup chopped pecans

1 Tablespoon butter, melted

 

Preheat oven to 200° for 15 minutes and turn off. Lightly butter a 12-cup muffin pan (heavy guage metal is best) or use muffin liners.

 

Mix cinnamon and Splenda for the filling. Set aside.

 

Put the hot water in the bowl of your electric mixer. I used my Kitchenaide and used the flat beater. Add the butter and stir until dissolved. Add cold water, vanilla extract, Splenda and yeast. Stir, and then wait 5 minutes.

 

Meanwhile, combine the remaining ingredients except for the last 2 Tablespoons of soy protein powder in a mixing bowl and stir. Add to the liquid. Knead the dough in the mixer for about 5 minutes using the flat beater. This is a very soft dough.

 

Put the 2 Tablespoons of soy protein powder on a cutting board and put dough on top of that. Roll out to form a large rectangle. Top with melted butter and then cinnamon/Splenda mixture. Top with pecans. Begin rolling from one end to form a tight roll. Cut into two sections and then each section into 6 pieces.

 

Place into muffin pans and put into warm oven for 35-40 minutes to raise. To bake, set temperature to 325°. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until done. Cool. These rolls freeze well. Thaw at room temperature.

 

 

5 responses to “Low Carb Pecan Cinnamon Rolls

  1. this sounds delicious yet healthy … thats rare 😀 … Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  2. edith draper

    Have you heard of the peacon roll. There was a low carb store here in San Jose , Ca. that sold them. They’ve gone out of business and i cani’t fine them any where.

  3. I wonder if this would work if you used coconut flour instead of white wheat flour? Any thoughts?

    • I am so sorry that I took so long to answer you. I can’t guarantee that it would work but I would give it a try. I don’t see why it wouldn’t work. You won’t need as much Coconut Flour though as the recipe calls for the white wheat flour. Not sure how much of a ratio it actually is but I do know it is less.

Leave a Reply

