Tandoori Chicken

I have found my new favorite chicken recipe. I spend a couple of hours each week looking for new recipes to try and share with friends and family. I have been following a crockpot blog for several weeks. It is not a low carb blog but many of the recipes will fit my Diabetic needs or I can tweek to meet my needs.

 

This recipe came from the following blog.

 

http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2009/03/crockpot-tandoori-chicken-recipe.html

 

This lady took an entire year and made a new recipe every day and made a blog from it. She has been on many television shows telling of her family’s journey through the crockpot adventure.

 

As I have mentioned many times before I am thoroughly addicted to using my crockpot. After working a ten hour day I would dread coming home if I knew that I still needed to prepare a meal once I got here. By spending about 10-15 minutes preparing what I need to toss in the crockpot in the morning my husband and I enjoy healthy meals at home.

 

By not eating out we are also saving money. The recipe below is a very economical dish and I can’t say enough about how wonderful it tasted. I know that it will be a regular item on our menu for many years to come.

 

As usual I always change it a bit so my changes and choices are below.

 

 

 

Tandoori Chicken

 

3-4 pounds whole chicken

1 cup sour cream

1 teaspoon ginger
1 teaspoon coriander
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (or more to taste)
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon ground Cardamom
1 tablespoon cumin
6 cloves garlic, minced
5-6 drops red food coloring (optional)
1 lemon, juiced

The Directions.

Use a 5-6 quart crockpot.


In a small mixing bowl, combine 1/2 cup sour cream with everything except the chicken. Smear all over the bird, inside and out and lower it into the crockpot.

Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours, or on high for 4.

 

After removing meat from the pot, stir in the remaining 1/2 cup of yogurt to make a yummy sauce to pour over the meat.

 

2 responses to “Tandoori Chicken

  1. Just wondering what the missing ingredient is. Didn’t read through this thoroughly enough before I began making it. What would be the ingredient after the kosher salt? I’ll put it in next time if we like this tonight. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

