Cabbage With Bacon

This recipe is using the Cabbage on the Grill recipe but converting it to the oven to make it simpler to make.  Since I am the only one in the house who will eat this. Heaven forbid a vegetable passes my husband’s lips.  This will generally last me 4-5 days of having it with my dinner as a side dish. Somedays I have this with a low carb yogurt for dinner.

Cabbage with Bacon

  • 1 large head cabbage
  • garlic powder
  • parmesan cheese
  • bacon

Cut cabbage into bite size pieces and place in a 9 X 13 inch pan. Sprinkle garlic powder to taste over top. Then top generously with parmesan cheese. Next add bacon to the top. It is much simpler to eat and to serve if you pre-cut the bacon into bite size pieces prior to putting on the top.

Cover with foil and bake for 45 minutes at 350 degrees. Then remove foil from top and bake another 15 minutes to brown bacon. Serve with additional parmesan cheese on top.

9 responses to “Cabbage With Bacon

  1. Hi Grace,nice to know you.You really look so wonderful now :o)
    Thanks for sharing your experiences with us.
    Cheers to your good health.
    Mike.

  2. Thank you for sharing your recipes!! You are such an inspiration!! I made this tonight for dinner. I only had shredded parmesan cheese so I used it and it was delicious!! I did cut up the bacon as you suggested, great tip!! I’ve also made your pancakes and cream cheese brownies, both were awesome!! Thanks again. Tina

    • I am so glad to hear from readers when they try a recipe. It means so much to me. I am glad that you enjoyed the recipes. I haven’t made this for a few weeks. I am glad that you reminded me of it. Now I will have to or it will haunt me all week. LOL Thanks for posting.

  3. Hi I’m new here and don’t really know what I’m doing but I’ve always wanted to find a cupcake or any dessert that truly is good. I’ve tried others that claim were delicious and they were quite terrible. Have any suggestions?

    • Well first of all let me ask you a few questions so that I can understand what your tastes are.

      1. Are you used to diet recipes using Splenda, xylitol or another sweetener? Some people are totally turned off to the tastes of these sugar replacements.
      2. Do you prefer fruity type of desserts or more cake like desserts?
      3. Do you like cold desserts such as cheesecake or ice cream or do you prefer recipes that are not cold?

  4. I use Splenda in my coffee and love the taste, I also like erithritol, (tastes most like real sugar and doesn’t cause a laxative effect.) It wasn’t so much the sweetener , but I felt like I was eating sand and it seemed the more I chewed the worse it got like if I didn’t hurry and spit it out I would choke! Maybe it was a bad recipe. I just started so I’m not at all experienced in baking low carb, I like all kinds of dessert but mostly cake/cupcakes, something I could grab and take to work for breakfast for a snak. Love pumpkin, puddings, cheesecake. I’m getting ready to make ur cabbage casserole right now. I noticed in one of ur recipes called for blanched ground Almond flour, I have grd almond flour but it doesn’t say blanched, does that make a difference? Any help would be appreciated.

    • I am sorry that it took so long for me to respond. I worked crazy hours this week.

      As for the blanched almond flour it is just my personal preference. I prefer the Honeyville brand and it is blanched. You can use it interchangeable with the regular almond flour. It will be slightly different but it will still be good.

      If you like cheesecake and pumpkin I highly recommend the pumpkin cheesecake with cranberry sauce over it or the keylime cheesecake. They are both excellent choices.

      How did the cabbage turn out for you?

  5. The cabbage dish was absolutely delicious, tasted like something from a gourmet restaurant! Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

