100 Pounds Lost

Today is a big day. On Sundays I usually post the menu for what we plan to eat for the week. However, this morning I got on the scales and found that as of today I have lost 100 pounds. I have been sitting on 99 pounds for weeks and was wondering how long it would take me to lose that one last pound. I do plan on losing three more pounds and then I am finished and will need to maintain my weight loss.

I want to share with you now my before and after pictures. This first picture was taken at my daughter’s wedding and the second was taken at Caleb’s birthday party a couple of weeks ago with the same daughter.

The first two pictures below are from my son’s wedding and the third is from Caleb’s birthday party two weeks ago.

I won’t lie and say that it was easy to lose the weight. I am very happy that I did this for myself. Two years ago next month I was diagnosed with Diabetes. I decided that I wanted to try to keep from taking medication for this and immediately began following my doctors suggestions. He suggested the regular American Diabetes Association diet. Armed with my Glucometer I began testing like a mad woman and kept a journal of exactly what I ate and what my testing showed. After a week I was very disillusioned because my levels were out of the world and I was following the plan to the letter. Then I stumbled across a message board that changed my life.

The message board is no longer there so I  can’t provide the link for you. However, what they showed me was that if you follow Dr. Bernstein’s Complete Diabetic Solution you can keep your numbers at normal, lose weight and remain healthy and full. I jumped on the bandwagon and after one month I had lost 16 pounds and My A1C was 5.6. For those who have no clue what an A1C is let me explain. It is a little test where the doctor pricks your finger for a tiny dot of blood. It tests what your glucose levels were over a three month period. According to everything that I was reading only 5% of Diabetics can naturally get their A1C into the 5s without medication. My doctor was very pleased and allowed me to follow my plan my way.

I lost weight very slowly on purpose. My job is one that requires me to dress professionally. Going from a size 22 to a size 8-10 was very expensive. Not only was I replacing clothes but I had to replace all of my shoes as well because my foot dropped one and a half sizes too. I would buy just enough outfits to get through a week and would replace them all each season to a size lower. Now that I am at the size I plan to stay I am going clothes shopping crazy. I love shopping for clothes now, where before I hated it with a passion.

The weight loss has been life changing for me. I feel so much better. I can spend hours in the floor playing with my grandson with his farm, horses and cows. I have more confidence and the food is wonderful. I do not feel as if I am giving anything up. I started this blog to journal my experience and I hope that I can be an inspiration to others to get their Diabetes under control. It can happen. You just have to want it badly enough.

51 responses to “100 Pounds Lost

  1. What a great accomplishment and your smile tells it all. I am so happy for you.

    Sissy

  2. WOW!!! I saw your post on 2Peas and came over to see your accomplishment. Congratulations, you look awesome!!! 🙂

  3. Congratulations. I saw your post on 2Peas and wanted to know more. You look healthy and happy.

  4. You rock! Congratulations!

  5. I saw your post on 2Peas. You’re a true inspiration

  6. Congratulations!
    You look amazing, seriously, you look at least 10 years younger! I am sure that you feel the same way!
    What an accomplishment.

  7. Thank you for posting a link on 2peas! Your story is so inspiring and your recipes look delicious…I see several that I can’t wait to try!

  8. I need to loose at least 100 too. I just ordered the book from Amazon, looking forward to browsing your blog for inspiration. So your post on 2peas. I think it might be fate that you posted in the wrong area, or I would have never seen this!

  9. Saw your post on 2P’s and clicked the link. You’re an inspiration for those of us who are in the process of getting back to a healthy state after being diagnosed! Thank you for sharing your story!

    • It seems there are many of us in the US that are fighting this illness. I know that I have been very blessed with being able to control my Diabetes with just my diet and exercise. For many it can be done this way. If you need a cheerleader just let me know.

  10. Congratulations, you look great!

    via Twopeas! 🙂

  11. You look fabulous!

  12. You look wonderful! Congratulations and thanks for the inspiration, I was wondering if I felt like going to the gym today and you made me realize that yes I do and should!

  13. Congratulations! Enjoy all those new clothes!

  14. You look fantastic and you are an inspiration! Good for you for not wanting to go on medications and choosing to do this yourself. You have done your body a world of good! I am dieting now, and will take a look at your menus to see if I can sneak a few ideas! Thank you for posting this link on 2peas!

  15. followed your link from 2P–you look amazing!!

  16. You look fantastic (and a lot younger!!!) I’m dying to know – what did you eat at the birthday party?

    Congratulations and thanks for sharing such an inspiring story!! The pictures tell it all don’t they?

    • Thank you. I ate Sausage dip with fresh broccoli and cucumbers and Cream Cheese Brownies that I took with me. Both recipes are on the blog. 🙂

  17. Absolutely awesome! Great job!

  18. Congratulations on reaching your goal. You look great. I’ve been reading Running with Angels. It is inspiring to me to read about the successes of people who make a change in their lives to be healthier.

  19. Wow! Congrats on your weight loss. That is amazing and wonderful. You should be proud of all your hard work.

  20. What an amazing accomplishment! you should be so proud of yourself for finding a good plan and sticking to it. It must have been so hard. You look fantastic and so vibrant and healthy! Congrats!

  21. I am so incredibly proud of you.

  22. Congrats on your hard work. I’m sitting at 97lbs lost…trying for those next 3 pounds, so I know all too well how you feel.

  23. you look wonderful! congrats to you for looking SO good and also improving your health!!

  24. That is great! I saw your post over at 2peas. Your an inspiration!

  25. Good for you! You look great!

  26. You look fabulous! Congratulations on your journey. I’m going to try some of the recipes you posted.

  27. katheryn thames

    You are my hero! I’m going to look into the diet plan that you’ve suggested.

  28. Wow! I saw your post on 2peas and had to come and say congratulations.
    Not only have you lost weight but about 20 years in age!

  29. Check you out! You look amazing, and are an inspiration. I am pre diabetic and I hate it.

  30. Congratulations! What a FANTASTIC achievement. You look wonderful.

  31. as of today I have lost 100 pounds.>>

    I am so impressed by your weight loss, but more impressed that you find the time to continue to help others as you do.
    I really enjoyed all the pictures (before and after) and those of your family. : )

  32. Grace: Congratulations! You look fantastic! You should be so proud of yourself and I hope others can be inspired by your journey and gain courage from your experience and your perseverance!
    –Leah Dillenback Tweel

  33. You look great!!!
    Congratulations!

  34. Pingback: Top Posts — WordPress.com

  35. WOW!!! What an Inspiration, I’m on that road now, it is probably the hardest thing I have ever done, but I’m doing it. I’m going to keep reading your story for inspiration.

  36. Cngratulations!

  37. Wow – what a transformation..like a whole new different person. I want to join the chorus of congrats to you!!

  38. Stumbled across your blog via Perfect Pantry ‘Other People’s Pantries.’ Just wanted to say congrats on your wonderful achievement. You look happy and healthy, and that’s what counts!

  39. Congratulations on achieving your goal! I know how incredibly difficult it is to lose weight, whatever your motivation. I was diagnosed with Diabetes in 2008 and controlled it with diet and exercise for two years. In January 2010 I was diagnosed with Acute Monocytic Leukemia. I had a bone marrow transplant on March 22, 2010 and am currently in remission. However, the prednisone I am taking for my Graft vs Host Disease is playing havoc with my blood sugars. But I came across your blog today, and I am going to use it and all your experiences, recipes, etc. to help me on my journey. Thank you, so much, for taking the time to help others. God Bless You!

    • I am so glad to hear that you are in remission. I know that the prednisone can play havoc with your blood sugars. I had to take it on a much smaller scale for poison ivy last year. I know that your reaction must be much more severe. I am glad that you found us. Please jump right in and post often. If you have any questions please ask and I will do my best to research an answer for you. I will say a prayer for you to have a much healthier 2011. 🙂

  40. You are a huge inspiration for me but I do have a few questions.
    1. How long did it take you to reach the weight you are now?
    2. What sort of exercise did you do? And what do you do now?
    3. The food in the recipe section of you website, are they the foods you ate while trying to lose the weight?

    Congratulations on your achievements I need to lose 100 pounds and after seeing your story I pray I can achieve that.

    • Welcome Felicity and thank you for the compliment. 🙂

      Let me answer in the order you asked.
      1. With the job that I work I have to dress professionally and going from a size 20-22 to a size 8 was expensive in replacing these clothes. I lost the weight very slowly over 2 years and I repurchased an entirely new wardrobe every season. I even had to replace all of my shoes because my shoe size dropped one and a half sizes. Most people don’t stop to think about the expense of replacing bras but when you lose that much weight you are constantly buying new bras. At $44 each that got expensive. 🙂

      2. When I first started the diet I only walked on my lunch hour at work. The more that I lost the more energy that I had and I naturally began hiking and geocaching. I can’t say that I actually had a daily schedule other than walking during my lunch hour. I would get in between 1-2 miles on my lunch.

      3. I ate all of the foods in the recipe while losing my weight and while maintaining.

      You can lose the weight.Don’t get discouraged if it comes off slowly. Studies have shown that losing it slowly will cause you to keep it off longer because it becomes a lifestyle at that point. Good luck and stick around. I love people who ask questions. 🙂

  41. Hi Grace,
    Congratulations on your lose and maintaining. I just happen to come across your website due to one of your recipes. I’m in the need/want of losing 100 lbs and planning to do low carb although I’m not a diabetic. However, it runs so heavily in my family that I need to take precautious and get to a healthy weight. Plus I want to look good in my clothes and get on the floor and play with my grandson without losing my breath and needing a 1 year old to help me off the floor. I had started losing weight and feeling really good about my progress and then I got into a horrible car accident in 2012 and everything went down hill. I gain back what I lose plus added 30 more due to lack of mobility and now motivation. Now I’m at my heaviest ever in life and I’m not liking it one bit and must get busy. Sorry for the long message but you’ve got me excited and ready to put an effort into taking care of ME. I was wondering if you have any tips/pointers to get me started? How many carbs and calories did you stick to per day? Any suggestions are welcome and needed.

    • Welcome to the blog. You can do this and I totally understand how you are feeling. It seems a bit overwhelming but you CAN do this. The way that I did this was to limit to 50 carbs per day. Never more than 20 in a meal. I kept my meals at least 4 hours in between and always stopped eating 4 hours before bedtime.

      When I first started I can’t say that I exercised much because I just felt too large to do it. I walked a bit but never anything too ambitious. 🙂 After you lose about 20 pounds you will find you are able to do so much more.

      I suggest you find a zumba class or a planet fitness in your area to begin your journey. I so wish that I had a planet fitness close to my home. Good luck and please stick around. Good things are coming soon!

  42. I stumbled across your blog today, and I must say, you are an inspiration! I’m attempting a reduced carb regime to lose weight and get my blood sugar down, and have pinned several of your recipes — both for myself and my 11 year old son, who’s on the Ketogenic Diet for Seizures (I have to convert recipes I use for him into grams, and then enter into the Ketodietcalculator, and then maybe tweak a bit to get it right for his dietary requirements). I made the Vanilla Almond cookies today, and enjoyed several this afternoon, and bagged the rest and put in the freezer for the little guy’s church snacks. I noted in your comment above that you limited to 50 carbs per day. Did you also monitor calories? Did you just eat 3 meals (and no snacks)? And why not eat 4 hours before bedtime? Also — it looks like it’s been about 5 years since you embarked on this journey — have you been able to maintain your goal weight? And, more importantly, has your glucose levels remained ideal?

    • Hello and welcome to the board. I will try to answer your questions. I did have snacks occassionally but not too often while I was trying to lose the weight. The 4 hours before bedtime means that your body is trying to digest carbs and calories while you sleep.

      I have actually been doing low carb for 7 years. I did great the first 5 years but during the divorce, new job and moving to a new area and home I struggled. I am back in the gym and eating low carb and trying to do clean eating as well. This really does work.

Leave a Reply

