7 Seed Crust Flatbread

A few years ago I went to a Middle Eastern Restaurant and had 7 Seed Crust Flatbread that I dearly loved. A few weeks ago while shopping with Donna I found this. This is Victoria Taylor’s brand I got it at Home Goods.

I had to buy it and then began the task of finding a recipe for low carb bread that I could put this on.  While searching the recipes over at the Dr. Bernstein Message Board I found this recipe. You have to be a member over there to see it but it is free to join and participate so go ahead and enjoy yourself.

http://www.diabetes-book.com/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1148643903

Now before you go getting upset you need to read the description under the recipe that explains that Linseed is also Flaxseed. It is very high in fiber and good for you. Tonight I made myself a big salad with mixed baby spring mix lettuces, cheddar cheese, bacon and low carb honey mustard dressing. I also made this 7 seed crust flatbread for the first time and it was so good.  I know that I will be making this on a regular basis. I used the following recipe to make them.

7 Seed Crust Flatbread

  • 2 1/2 tablespoons ground flaxseed
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • garlic powder and salt- just a bit of each

Mix dry ingredients together in a bowl and then add:

  • 1 Tablespoon melted butter
  • 1 Tablespoon water
  • 1 large egg

Mix it all together and allow to sit for about two minutes to soften flaxseed and thicken batter. On a hot non-stick pan that has been sprayed with Pam pour half of the mixture. Allow to cook completely on one side and then flip as if it were a pancake. While the other side is now cooking take a brush and add melted butter to the top and then sprinkle your 7 Seed Crust seasoning.

The message board mentioned using these crusts as tortilla shells and also as crusts for pizza. I think the sky is the limit on ways to season and use this tasty bread.

I tested my glucose two hours after I ate my dinner and my level was only 98. This recipe is a keeper.

Leave a Reply

