Spicy Shrimp Spinach Salad

This is my version of Applebees Spicy Shrimp Spinach Salad. I think it tasted the same but you may have another opinion. I did not try to recreate their hot bacon vinaigrette dressing because it spikes my glucose. I ate a low carb honey mustard dressing. Two hours after eating this my glucose level was only 90. As you can see I ate a large plate of salad and I was definitely not hungry.

First for the shrimp portion I found a recipe for the spices at Cooks.com but did not use it as it was directed there. I mixed the following spices together and plan to keep them in my spice cabinet just to use for this recipe.

  • 1 Tablespoon dried rosemary
  • 1 Tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 Tablespoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon paprika

Mix well and set aside.

For the salad you will need the following

  • 1 pound large jumbo shrimp, tails removed and deveined
  • baby spinach salad
  • 4 slices of bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 1/2 jar of roasted red peppers, drained and finely chopped
  • finely shredded cheddar cheese
  • spice mix from above
  • lime juice
  • olive oil
  • butter
  • 1 garlic clove, minced

In a non-stick pan heat 1 tablespoon butter and 1 tablespoon olive oil. Add shrimp and sprinkle generously with spice mix. You can add as much or as little depending on your tastes. Next add garlic and about a tablespoon of lime juice. When shrimp is cooked (only a couple of minutes) remove from heat.

On a plate layer spinach, roasted red peppers, bacon, cheddar cheese and top with shrimp. Serve with your favorite low carb salad dressing. This recipe makes 2 very large salads.

Leave a Reply

