New Orleans Po’Boy Fish Sandwiches

The original recipe came from a Taste of Home cookbook. I have modified it to make it low carb. I am practically giddy this recipe was so good. Before Diabetes changed my life I would often (weekly) get the fish sandwich from McDonald’s. Learning to change my eating habit came difficult for me.  Each evening when getting off of the interstate to come home I would look longingly at McDonald’s but I never once went over there. This recipe has given me back my fish sandwiches and I think I prefer this one even more.

New Orleans Po’Boy Fish Sandwiches

  • 1 cup Lemon Pepper Marinade with Lemon Juice (recipe called for Lawry’s but I bought the Kroger brand which was 1 carb per serving)
  • 1 1/2 pounds fish filets
  • 1/4 cup Mayonnaise (do not substitute Miracle Whip- It has more carbs)
  • 1/2 cup low carb dry bread crumbs
  • low carb bread- toasted- I used Heiner’s 35 Wheat bread- has 11 carbs per two slices
  • vegetable oil for frying

Pour 3/4 cup Marinade over fillets in a plastic bag and turn to coat. Close bag and marinate in refrigerator about 30 minutes. Combine remaining 1/4 cup marinade with mayonnaise, set aside.

Place bread crumbs in a shallow pie plate. Remove fillets from marinade, discarding marinade. Dip fish in crumbs to coat both sides evenly. Heat oil in a large skillet and cook fillets in batches until golden brown turning once. Drain on paper towels.

Evenly spread reserved mayonnaise mixture on both side of toasted low carb bread. Top with fillets, thinly sliced tomatoes and shredded lettuce. Top with second piece of toast.

Leave a Reply

