Grilled Dijon Summer Squash

I really liked this recipe. I made it on Saturday while Caleb was here. I did not want to keep running back and forth between the grill on the back deck and the kitchen so I cooked the sausage on the grill too. I really liked it this way. Apparently so did Caleb. He ate almost 4 pieces. Unfortunately he did not like the squash but he did try them so I give him credit. He seemed to like the mushrooms from the mix and he didn’t have any left on his little plate.

Grandpa filled his plate with baked potato and porknbeans so he was a happy camper. He loves to eat pawpaws food. I grabbed this picture before grandpa had the chance to add his carbs to his plate. hahaha I am quicker than he is. 🙂

The original recipe came from the Taste of Home Grilling cookbook. I made a couple of modifications. The recipe was too huge for me to make here. I would be eating on these veggies for a week if I had made it as described.

The picture below is of my plate. I had this and a CarbSmart Almond Ice Cream Bar for dessert and 2 hours after eating my glucose level was only 77. YESSSSSSSSSSS!!!!

Grilled Dijon Summer Squash

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/8 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 medium zucchini, sliced into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 yellow squash, sliced into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 onion quartered
  • 1 large red or orange pepper cut into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 8 ounce package of whole mushrooms

In a jar combine oil, vinegar, oregano, mustard, garlic, salt and pepper. Place the vegetables in a gallon size ziploc baggie. Add marinade and toss to coat. Let sit for 15 minutes.

Drain and discard marinade: arrange vegetables on foil on a hot grill. Grill covered for 10-12 minutes turning often. Makes 6 servings.

One response to “Grilled Dijon Summer Squash

  1. It looks so healthy and yummy. I can’t wait to make it for my son, hope he likes it.

Leave a Reply

