Artichokes

One thing that I have to do since becoming a Diabetic is try new foods. We tend as adults to only eat the things that our family ate as we were growing up. Did your family deep fry just about everything? Did you have a dessert at each meal? Lots of soft drinks in your home? You just described a very large portion of American meals.

When I was growing up we tended to eat the same meals that my mother ate when she was growing up. I am glad that she now eats much healthier but when I was a child most meals were high carb, breaded and fried. That does not make her a bad mother. She was just cooking the way that she was taught. Guess what? When I raised my children I fed them high carbs, breaded and fried meals too. Does that make me a bad mom? No. Now I know better.

A few months ago I mentioned when I was growing up that my mom breaded her squash and deep fried it and she got her feelings hurt.  Sorry mom. But that was the way you did it. That is also the way that I used to do it too for my family. After we became adults and my mother was just cooking for herself and her husband she began trying new things and now she sautes, steams and bakes much of her food. She cooks much healthier and I am so proud of her for making the change.

One of the new items that I have now tried and enjoyed were artichokes. Now I do recall seeing people eat them on TV and thought they looked a bit ridiculous. I have to say that after having eaten it I probably looked funny too but boy was it good.

First of all I had no idea how to cook it and how to eat it properly. I quickly went to Google and researched it completely. I highly suggest that you watch the video at this link to see how to eat and prepare Artichokes if you have never had one.

http://www.oceanmist.com/products/how-to-prepare/how-to-eat-an-artichoke.aspx

This is how I cooked and enjoyed my Artichoke.

Artichoke

  • 1 artichoke
  • olive oil
  • minced garlic
  • balsamic vinegar
  • kosher salt
  • pepper
  • parmesan cheese

First of all pull apart the leaves of your artichoke and wash it completely. Shake out all excess water.

Place the artichoke in the center of 2 layers of aluminum foil and drizzle with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Next add kosher salt and pepper to taste. Next add minced garlic between each leaf of the artichoke. Wrap the foil tightly and bake at 450 degrees for about an hour. Open the foil and add a lot of parmesan cheese between the leaves. Enjoy.

I suggest watching this video on how to bake the artichoke.

http://www.oceanmist.com/products/how-to-prepare/how-to-bake-an-artichoke.aspx

3 responses to “Artichokes

  1. thanks for finding that video,i will enjoy eating my artichoke now.
    stell

  2. Ben loves steamed artichoke. I make it the way his grandmother made it: steamed in chicken stock with a little water and pepper added, with garlic stuffed in between the leaves. Lot’s of garlic=yummy!

Leave a Reply

