Eggplant Parmesan With Italian Sausage

OK you might not think this is a new recipe but it is another alternative to including eggplant into your meal. I made the eggplant parmesan recipe that I had provided the other day and I fried Italian Sausage after removing it from the casing. I added this to the pan before adding the sauce to the top and then added a bit extra mozzarella cheese to the top. It was fabulous.

My grandson came over on Saturday and he ate this too. He liked it more when I had both Italian Sausage and eggplant in the bite that I gave him instead of just the eggplant. You might want to think of this as a way to disguise getting your children to eat more vegetables. Who doesn’t like food covered in cheese and spaghetti sauce?

The original recipe came from here.

https://grace2882.wordpress.com/2010/08/03/eggplant-parmesan/

The new recipe is as follows.

Eggplant Parmesan with Italian Sausage

  • 1 eggplant cut in 3/4 inch thick slices
  • 1.5 pounds Italian Sausage, casings removed and fried
  • 2 Tablespoons salt
  • 4 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese
  • 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1 cup parmesan cheese, divided
  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoons dried basil or 1/2 cup chopped fresh basil
  • 4 cups Ragu original pasta sauce

Rub salt onto both sides of all eggplant slices. Allow to sit for 30 minutes until the salt draws the moisture out of the eggplant. This is to keep the eggplant from absorbing too much of the olive oil later.

Rinse and pat dry all of the eggplant slices.

In a mixing bowl mix ricotta cheese, 1 1/2 cup of mozzarella cheese and 1/2 cup parmesan cheese. Add basil and egg and mix well. Set aside.

In a nonstick frying pan add olive oil. Fry eggplant until slightly brown on all sides. Layer eggplant and cheese mixture to resemble lasagna. Top with fried Italian Sausage and then top with Ragu pasta sauce and remaining parmesan cheese and mozzarella cheese. Cover with foil and bake for 40 minutes.

5 responses to “Eggplant Parmesan With Italian Sausage

  1. This looks YUMMY! And I’m one of those “children” who likes to hide my vegetables.

  2. Grace,

    This looks wonderful I’m making it tomorrow. What size pan did you use? I ask because your cheese filling is about half what I usually use for a pan of lasagna.

    Thanks for all the great recipes! I’m very grateful for creative people who like to experiment like you.

    Lora

    • I am sorry that it took me so long to respond. I used a 9 X 13 cake pan to make mine in and it filled the entire pan. Let me know how you like it. Caleb and I loved it.

  3. Made this today but using my homemade sauce. Delish! Just wished there was a way to get the eggplant to hold up better in recipes like this. Soggy eggplant or not, still excellent. My leftovers are in the freezer. But a very big mess in the kitchen.

    • Oh I do know about messy kitchens. I love to cook but hate to clean the kitchen. I am so glad that I live in this era though and don’t have to heat my water on a fire and then hand wash my dishes. I can’t imagine not having all of the conveniences that we do now. I love history but don’t envy of them that lived through it. LOL

Leave a Reply

