Canning Tomatoes

This is what I have been doing this summer.

I hadn’t canned anything in a couple of years but decided that since I am getting healthy that I should be more proactive in what preservatives that I am putting into my body. I started with canning tomatoes and have frozen green peppers, red peppers, orange peppers, banana peppers and sweet peppers. I can’t wait until fall so that I can can pumpkin to make new low carb recipes such as muffins, pancakes and cookies.

Food tastes so much better when you used home canned items. I am looking forward to this winter when I am making stews and chilis and using my canned tomatoes. I had wanted to can stringless green beans but no one had them this year that I could find and I don’t can any style of green bean that I have to string. 

We are also going to buy a freezer soon and I want to buy half of a cow next year and possibly half a pig too. I don’t want to put all of the hormones into my body that many animals are fed to make them bigger so that the large markets can sell them. My daughter-in-laws family raise animals and I plan to get half a cow from them next year. Not sure where I will get the pig from. Perhaps I need to bid at the 4H fair next summer. I am already attending so it makes sense to support the kids by getting a pig there. I just need someone to go in half with me. HMMMMMM Which relative should I ask? LOL

Tomorrow I will show you my favorite farmer’s market and how wonderful all of the fresh produce, eggs and sausage are from there.

2 responses to “Canning Tomatoes

  1. I know where you’re coming from. This is what I’ve been wanting to do, but circumstances prevented me from getting my garden in early. Then we had very little rain and a lot of the gardens dried up around here. I do have a few tomatoes coming in now and some purple hull peas which I can put in the freezer.

    I am very interested in purchasing a half-cow from someone. May have to do a little more research.

    My mom died from cancer and so many other people I know are coming down with cancer. I’ve always wondered if it has something to do with what and how we’re eating these days.

    • I didn’t get to garden either. We live in a flood zone and I got tired of losing my gardens to filthy flood waters. I buy all of my produce now at a local farmer’s market. I am going to show pictures of the market tomorrow.

      I wish I knew what caused cancer. I see so much of it at work and in my own family. I just can’t help but think that if we took more responsibility for what we put in our bodies we would have to be healthier. Know what I mean?

Leave a Reply

