My Weekly Menu For 8/29/2010

This past week was hectic. I can’t believe how many hours that I worked. Despite the hours I still love my job and what I do. I guess that counts for a lot. I made a new recipe using trout and took it for my lunch. I will be sharing it with you one day this week. I have begun finding better ways to do my lunch and I feel better throughout the day and still manage to keep my carbs under 20 for the lunch. That always keeps my glucose count below 100.

This week I will be making Raspberry Muffins for my breakfast and having 2 of them and a Krogers low carb yogurt. That keeps my breakfast at less than 10 carbs. I will be using the following recipe but substituting raspberries for blueberries.

https://grace2882.wordpress.com/2008/08/17/blueberry-power-muffin/

I will be making a new recipe using Salmon and taking it for lunch along with fresh veggies and a dessert that I will share below. Gotta keep those carbs down.

My dinners will be the following.

Sunday- Pot roast- just putting veggies in the bottom of a crockpot and placing the roast on top. I will mix one package of lipton dry onion soup with a half a cup of water and pour over top of roast. Cook on high for 8 hours and it is perfect for us.

Monday- Left over Steak Burgers that we cooked on Saturday on the spur of the moment. I will also have Broiled Asparagus with Parmesan using the following recipe.

https://grace2882.wordpress.com/2010/04/06/broiled-asparagus-with-parmesan-cheese/

Tuesday- leftover pot roast from Sunday

Wednesday- Blackened Chicken using the following recipe. I will have mine on a salad.

https://grace2882.wordpress.com/2009/05/02/blackened-chicken/

Thursday- leftovers from Wednesday

Friday- Sausage using the fresh sausage that we bought at the local farmer’s market.

Saturday- My daughter is in town with her wonderful husband. My son and daughter-inlaw and of course Caleb will be here for dinner. I am going all out for this one. We will have Beer Chicken with vegetables, I will be making several items that are not low carb for the non-diabetics. I am very excited that my family will be here.

https://grace2882.wordpress.com/2010/07/16/beer-chicken-with-vegetables/

For my diet dessert this week I will be making blackberry cobbler using the following recipe.

https://grace2882.wordpress.com/2010/06/29/blackberry%c2%a0cobbler/

I will be incorporating the following veggies into my menu during the week.

  • Asparagus
  • broccoli
  • salad mix
  • carrots
  • grape tomatoes
  • onions
  • green peppers
  • red peppers
  • orange peppers
  • cucumbers
  • zucchini

 

6 responses to “My Weekly Menu For 8/29/2010

  1. I looove reading your weekly menus, because they always give me ideas.

    I was already planning a crock-pot pot roast for tomorrow night! I make mine the same way. It’s carrots and turnips for the veggies, and I always serve it up with green beans. Mmmm. I almost don’t even miss the potatoes and bread.

    Also, I will TOTALLY be making that cobbler recipe. It’s not often I come across a recipe that only has ingredients I already have in my kitchen. Thanks for sharing it!

    • I love this cobbler. I have to really show restraint when I make this. This time I used frozen berries that were a mix of raspberry, blueberry and blackberry. It is very good. Let me know if you like it. If you use frozen you need to let them thaw first or allow more time for it to bake.

      I will have to try the turnips in my pot roast next time. I think I would like that too. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I just noticed your Twitter updates in your sidebar and started following you, so don’t be scared when you see a random person called plumpdumpling adding you.

    I love the idea of the asparagus. I sometimes make the most boring vegetables just to make sure I get enough vitamins, but it’s no fun to eat just because I have to. Those look like veggies I’d eat because I WANT to.

    • Oops! I was logged in with my personal blog’s name. That was me!

      • Haha, apparently my first comment didn’t even show up. Here’s what I said:

        I just noticed your Twitter updates in your sidebar and started following you, so don’t be scared when you see a random person called plumpdumpling adding you.

        I love the idea of the asparagus. I sometimes make the most boring vegetables just to make sure I get enough vitamins, but it’s no fun to eat just because I have to. Those look like veggies I’d eat because I WANT to.

    • You are silly. LOL I would automatically have known who you are just from being on your blog. Welcome to my blog and my infrequent twitters. LOL

Leave a Reply

