My Weekly Menu for December 5, 2010

Normally I write my post for Sunday on Saturday but unfortunately my husband had an accident yesterday and we spent the day at the emergency room. He was putting lime dust under our house because of the flooding problems that we have here. He had a clump of lime dust go into his left eye. He came into the house yelling that he needed help.

We flushed it with water for 15 minutes and then I grabbed Caleb out of his bed and we took him to the ER. He burned 30% of his cornea and had a clump of the lime dust embedded into his cornea. They had to remove the lime dust and rinse his eye with saline. I had no idea that there aren’t any pain medications that help eye pain. Now we do.

Mike was in unbelievable pain and still is. His vision is blurry and he can’t stand to have any light hit his eyes. They do expect his vision to clear up eventually and over time the pain should ease but for right now he needs your prayers. He meets with the doctor  that removed the lime dust from his cornea tomorrow and I am praying that he gets good results.

So onto our menu for the week. I am changing my menu from what I had originally planned to make this week easier on us considering doctors appointments and all of the time it is taking to treat his eyes daily. This week I will be having cranberry pecan muffins for breakfast with low carb yogurt.

For our dinners we will have the following:

Sunday- Meatloaf

Monday- left over BBQ pork chops that made using the sauce from this recipe and cooking in the crockpot on low for 7 hours.

Tuesday- left over meatloaf

Wednesday- sausage and eggs

Thursday- Bacon Burgers

Friday- left over bacon burgers

Saturday- Beef Roast Braised in Zinfandel

6 responses to “My Weekly Menu for December 5, 2010

  1. Oh no Grace! I’m so sorry to hear about your husband.

    “I pray right now for your husband, that his sight will be completely and totally healed of all pain and that there will be no lasting evidence of this accident to his eye. I pray for absolute recovery. I pray and believe with you for complete healing. In Jesus name, Amen!”

    Lucy

  2. Thank you so much for the prayer. You bring tears to my eyes. I love him so much and seeing him in so much pain is difficult. I just want to see him as happy as he was before the accident. God can heal him and and ease his pain. I do believe that. Thank you again so much from both of us.

  3. I’m so sorry about your husbands’s accident. I will say a prayer for him as well. Please keep us updated.

  4. OMG Sorry to hear about Dear Hubby, too!
    Good that you stayed calm and focused….

  5. You have been in my thoughts and prayers since I read of your husband’s terrible accident. I hope to hear soon that he isn’t in as much pain and most definitely that his sight is restored to normal. God is still powerful in our lives and works in every way to our good. We just have to be faithful and trust Him daily.
    You have been such an inspiration to me as I have tried to make the necessary changes in my life as a new diabetic. I look forward to each day’s post.
    Lucy

    • Thank you so much Lucy. He is doing so much better today. He tried to go to work but he couldn’t focus to get the screwdriver attached to the end of the screw. Luckily he has his brother to drive him places. He can actually open his eyes now and they aren’t anywhere near as red as they were. I looked for the white spot that the doctor said that he would have and if I hadn’t seen where it had been I never would have found it now. I pray that within the next few days it goes away totally.

      He has to close his left eye to read anything because that eye is still causing him the most trouble. He can’t seem to get his brain to work using both eyes. I know it doesn’t make sense but that is how he explains it. I know he is struggling but he is sooooooooo much better that I know that God was watching out for him and I trust him to give him a complete healing. Thank you again for the prayers.

Leave a Reply

