Turkey Quesadillas

I was so excited with this one. I loved it. Mike wouldn’t eat them because they had too many vegetables in them but he did pat me on the head and said he was happy that I was so happy. 🙂 Gotta love a supportive man!!

I used more of the roasted red peppers that I had bought at Dollar Tree. I only have 7 more jars in my pantry. Whatever will I do if I run out? I love this recipe and can’t wait to make it for my son Stephen. He loves to cook and he will enjoy this one.  These can be served as a meal or cut into small sections to serve as an appetizer.

Look how fresh this recipe looks!

Turkey Quesadillas

  • 1/2 cup chopped cooked turkey
  • 1/4 cup salsa (bought at Dollar General- 3 carbs total)
  • 1/4 cup roasted red peppers (5 carbs total)
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro (1 carb total)
  • 2 low carb tortillas (10 carb total)

Have all of your items chopped and prepared before hand to make this quickly in the pan.

Heat a large pan. Brush one side of the tortilla with water and place water side down in the pan. Working quickly top in the following order: half of cheese, salsa, peppers, turkey, cilantro, other half of cheddar cheese. Brush remaining tortilla and place on top with the water side up.

Place lid on the pan and allow quesadilla to heat for approximately 3-4 minutes. Remove lid and using a very large turner flip the quesadilla in the pan. Place lid back on the pan and allow to heat for approximately 3 minutes.

Remove from pan and using a pizza cutter cut into 4 servings of 4.75 carbs each. Two will be filling to have as a meal with a small side salad. Since I am able to eat 20 carbs for lunch I ate the entire thing for 19 carbs total. When I tested my glucose 2 hours later my levels were only 103. This is a keeper for me.

2 responses to “Turkey Quesadillas

  1. Ooohhhh, that looks goooood! ALDI stopped selling my favorite low carb wrap a few weeks ago so I have started experimenting w/different wraps. The one thing I loved about the ALDI’s wrap was the size. It was in a rectangle shape so it was easy to use as a “bun” for hamburgers, etc.

    Very Nice on the BG!

    • I never did find the low carb wraps at Aldi. I am waiting for the sugarfree dark chocolate chips that they sold last year at Christmas. I really stocked up then. I will be hurting if they don’t get them this year.

Leave a Reply

