Crab Frittata

I made this on Saturday when I was babysitting Caleb. He likes to help crack the eggs so even though we cracked 6 eggs I think 5 actually made it into the bowl. đŸ™‚ He loves to put his little apron on and stand on a chair next to the kitchen counter. It reminds me so much of cooking with his daddy when he was little. I know Caleb is only two but he loves to help me cook and I love having him help me. đŸ™‚

I had to go out and buy a skillet that could also go under the broiler too. I love this pan so much that I used it later that day and I believe it is my favorite skillet now.

This was my serving and the one below it was Caleb’s plate. He isn’t low carbing so he also had apples. I had  a low carb yogurt with mine.

 

This recipe reheats very well too. I had the leftovers the next morning as well.

Crab Frittata

  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped green pepper
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 can (6 1/2 ounce) lump white crabmeat, drained
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 tespoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
  • 1 plum tomato, seeded and finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup shredded romano cheese
  • 1/4 cup shredded asiago cheese

Preheat broiler. Heat oil in large ovenproof skillet over medium-high heat. Add bell pepper and garlic: cook and stir for 3 minutes or until tender.

Meanwhile, beat eggsin medium bowl. Break up the large pieces of crabmeat. Add crabmeat, black pepper, salt and hot pepper sauce to eggs. Stir gently until well blended.

Add tomato to skillet, cook and stir 1 minute. Stir in egg mixture. Reduce heat to medium low: cook 7 minutes or until eggs begin to set around edges.

Transfer skillet to broiler. Broil 2 minutes or until center is et and top is browned. Remove from oven and add cheese to top of eggs. Return to broiler and broil 1 minute to melt cheese. Serve immediately. Makes 4 servings.

Nutritional information is as follows.

  • Calories-302.4
  • Total Fat- 19.9 grams
  • Cholesterol- 366 mg
  • Sodium 1024.3 mg
  • Potassium 270.9 mg
  • Total Carbs- 3.3 grams
  • Protein- 26.4 grams
4 responses to “Crab Frittata

  1. Ohhh your crab frittata look so warm and comforting. It sounds like a perfect brunch đŸ™‚

  2. That sounds really good! I need that for tomorrow’s breakfast! I’ve been so busy baking high carb treats for trays that I’m giving out, I’ve had very little time to cook for myself in the mornings. I might just try to tomorrow. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe.

  3. Now I think the blogger is eating comments again!
    That thing needs to go on a diet!
    I am certain I mentioned how good this looks!
    And how I can’t wait to try it myself!
    Yum!

Leave a Reply

