Bacon Wrapped Cocktail Sausages

Now I know most of you have probably had these before and are shaking your head at your monitor now. However, I had never had these and I loved them. My son called me to tell me that he was bringing this recipe to our home for Christmas dinner. He told me that you wrap bacon around cocktail sausagesand then roll in brown sugar and bake. I asked him if he would make me some using Sugar Twin Brown Sugar Replacement and he agreed.

He, Kristin and Caleb arrived carrying two bowls of these. One was diet and the other was with real brown sugar. Everyone but me and Mike tried both and everyone agreed that the diet ones were better. I loved these so much that over the weekend I made some for myself for here. 

Stephen was so sweet. He told me that he had already done the math and for every 5 sausages that I ate it was only 2 carbs.  When I bought my sausages at Aldi’s I was able to figure that I could have 7 of that brand for 2 carbs. For that reason I am not giving the nutritional information for this one. It all depends on the brand of cocktail sausages that you purchase.

Sugar Twin® Granulated Brown
is a wonderful product. I use it in BBQ sauces quite often. The only problem that I have is finding it locally. Only one store sells it in my area and it is 45 minutes from my home. They also only carry it during the holidays so I have to get it and stock up. When I really need it I do purchase it from Amazon as well.

Bacon Wrapped Cocktail Sausages

  • 1 pound sliced bacon
  • 14 ounce package cocktail sausages
  • 1/2 cup Sugar Twin Brown Sugar Replacement

This works better if the bacon is cold so work wrapping the first half while leaving the bacon in the fridge until ready to wrap the second half of the sausages.

Cut bacon so it is long enough to circle and overlap the sausages. Secure together with toothpicks. Dip in brown sugar and place on baking sheet. (I lined mine with foil for easier cleanup). Bake in preheated 325 degree oven for 40 minutes. Remove from pan to serving dish or place in crockpot to keep warm for the party.

13 responses to “Bacon Wrapped Cocktail Sausages

  1. I saw a pan of these today on another site and I thought that I must make these soon! Your’s look very good!

    • They were excellent. A definite hit for the party. 🙂 My son said he was swapping recipes with this woman at a party before Christmas. What is so funny is if you could see my redneck son with his beard and wearing his cammo everyday you wouldn’t think he could cook at all. My daughter-in-laws family call him Betty Crocker. LOL 🙂

      • that’s great! lol Since he wears camo he must be a hunter. Reminds me that I had bacon wrapped deer tenderloin and fried cabbage tonight. yum-yum!

      • Stephen and I have discussed your deer recipe. He promises me that the next deer that he gets he is bringing me some so that we can try it.

  2. I’ve never had those – I’ve had them prepared the same way but with water chesnuts instead of sausages – those are pretty good too. I’ll have to give these a try as well – yum!

  3. Ohhh…these look yummy for my tummy!!!! I’m going to have to pick up some TWIN brown sugar. I’m always on the lookout for snack type foods for when my husband and I watch the Chicago Bears….I know this is going to be a hit!

    Thanks!

  4. Pingback: Bacon-Wrapped Lil’ Smokies | Heart of a Country Home

  5. Yum-yum! I made these again this morning and finally got a post up. I’m sending them to you for the recipe! 🙂

    • Awe thank you so much. I am glad that you enjoyed them. They are so easy to make and everyone loved them at our dinner party. I hope that you are able to find the Sugar Twin Brown Sugar replacement. It is hard to find but I have found a million uses for it.

  6. I heard that the “sugar” free brown sugars are just regular brown sugar with the “sugar free” product of choice added. I don’t have any to check the ingredients, but the next time I needed brown sugar I was going to try and whip up my own with splenda and see what happened.
    I am glad that I found this site through Heart of a Country Home. It is great as I am wanting to get back on the low carb routine.

    • Welcome to the blog. 🙂

      Sugar Twin Brown Sugar Replacement does not have any real brown sugar in it. It is a complete zero carb alternative. Splenda Brown Sugar Blend is a combination of real brown sugar and Splenda. That is why I don’t use it and don’t recommend it to anyone. 🙂

  7. Found your blog by looking for the carb content of cocktail frankfurts! I have been making these for at least the last 20 years and I don’t put the sugar on them. They are very good with just the frankfurt and the bacon. I also put them under the grill rather than in the oven … need a turn about half way through, but only take about 10 mins of cooking time. Will be back to check out some of those yummy looking recipes you’ve got here.

Leave a Reply

