V&J Farms

Last summer our community had a local farmers market that I thoroughly enjoyed. I had the opportunity to meet the owners of V&J Farms. Vallery and Jim Withrow are very nice people who offer a valuable service to our community.

Following the salmonella outbreak and egg recall I began buying all of my eggs from V&J Farms. Every Friday when I get off of work I drive to their farm and buy 2-3 dozen eggs. I also purchase my sausage and ground beef from them as well and have never been disappointed.

Shortly after beginning to get my eggs with them I purchased my own reusable locknlock egg cartons. This way I don’t have to use the cardboard cartons. It is eco-friendly and I love the ease in which they work. My only problem is that occasionally the eggs are so big that they won’t fit into my carton. These eggs are huge. They resemble the size of duck eggs and when a recipe calls for 2 eggs I only use one. Check these out.

Most of the really huge eggs are double yolked and once cracked will easily fill a half of a cup measuring cup.

One thing that I love about buying from V&J Farms is that I am getting fresh items. I know that their animals are not fed hormones to make them larger and that my family is eating healthier. I also love that I am supporting a local farm to keep them  going as well.

I often worry that with the economy the way that it is that we are going to enter a depression of sorts.

This past Christmas I noticed that it was very difficult to get many items in the grocery store. I had never seen grocery store shelves so empty before. I went to 4 stores before I could find tomatoes to make Bacon Stuffed Tomatoes for Stephen.  Out of 4 stores I was only able to find 1 small bunch of green onions.

Stephen said he went to 3 stores to find cocktail sausages for his recipe that he was making. I am glad that I have a pantry and this summer I plan to do more canning and really be prepared for if the economy worsens. This will help me prepare and also support the local farmers as well.

If you wish to contact V&J Farms you can do so at 304-755-4300 or email them at VandJFarms@comcast.net.

3 responses to “V&J Farms

  1. What an egg!

    By the way, I made your Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins and posted them with some more breakfast ideas this morning. I linked back to your recipe.

    Hope this is ok! Thanks for such a great recipe.

  2. Love those farm fresh brown eggs!
    Some of my patients give them to me from time to time.

  3. Wow, those are some big eggs!! I’m so bummed that we don’t have fresh produce/food places around here.

Leave a Reply

