Sweet and Sour Potroast

I got the original recipe out of a Taste of Home Cookbook and modified it to become low carb. Mike and I liked this but didn’t love it. We both discussed how tender it was. I had it two different nights shredded on a salad with Poppy Seed Dressing on it and found that I preferred it when added to a salad. I can see making it again but only to be eaten on a salad.

The first night I had it with steamed broccoli which had a bit of butter and lemon on it and a low carb yogurt.

Sweet and Sour Pot Roast

  • 1 3-pound beef chuck roast
  • 2 Tablespoons dried onion
  • 1 15-ounce can tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup Sugar Twin Brown Sugar Replacement
  • 2 Tablespoons Worcestershire Sauce
  • 2 Tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Place pot roast in the bottom of a slow cooker. Mix remaining ingredients in a bowl and pour over the top of roast. Cook on high for 7 hours. Shred with a fork to serve. Makes 8 servings.

Nutritional information- Calories- 518.30, Fat-33.1 grams, Cholesterol- 102.0 mg, Sodium- 321.0 mg, Potassium- 738.7 mg, Carbohydrate- 5.6 grams (Fiber- 0.5 grams, Sugars 4.5 grams)

4 responses to “Sweet and Sour Potroast

  1. This looks good, but not sure if I would care for it on its own either. I might try it with pork. But it does look amazingly tender and juicy! 🙂

    BTW, and this is just a personal preference, I get an aftertaste with brown sugar twin – do you taste that? I don’t get one from diabetisweet brown sugar replacement though…just curious.

    • I have never noticed an aftertaste but then again I grew up with a sister with Type 1 Diabetes and we had food cooked with it all my life. I may be used to it. 🙂

  2. A lot of people use it so it’s probably just me :).

  3. I love Taste of Home magazine and got it in the mail for several years! Great recipes and pics.

    funny, I just saw your post about your pot roast. I found a pic of a pot roast I did several months ago and posted about it Friday. Great minds think alike! lol

    Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

