Fire Roasted Tomato Soup

A few weeks ago I found a recipe on another low carb food blog that really tempted me. After becoming a Diabetic it pained me to have to give up Campbell’s Tomato Soup but I did it. When I found this recipe for Fire Roasted Tomato Soup I was very excited. I had never heard of canned fire roasted tomatoes but when I went to find them there they were sitting very pretty along with all of the other cans of tomatoes. I knew that I would like this recipe so much that I bought 2 cans. 🙂

On the 24/7 Low Carb Diner she suggested putting chicken or meatballs in the soup. I tried the soup by itself and it was ok but I then added some cooked chicken and it was very good. The recipe makes 2 servings so the next day I warmed up the leftover soup and the taste was even better. This is one of those recipes where the leftovers are even better the next day. I plan to make this again and put my turkey meatballs in it.  This is a picture of my soup and you can visit her site to get the recipe.

I think the next time that I make it I will add a little less of the liquid smoke and lemon juice but it is definitely a keeper and I think adding a bit of parmesan cheese will make it interesting too. Two hours after I ate this my glucose levels were only 98 so I definitely will make this again. 🙂

One response to “Fire Roasted Tomato Soup

  1. Thanks! This is perfect for the winter. My daughter loves the campbells tomato soup…I’ll probably add the chicken: YUMMO!

Leave a Reply

