Chicken Coop

I am very excited about moving to the farm and having chickens. I have been looking at chicken coop designs online and reading everything I can about how to care for chickens. I am sure that I have at least one reader on the blog that lives on a farm and has chickens or used to have chickens.

What do you think of the Wichita Cabin Coop? I hope that link takes you directly to it. I think I want one twice this size of this coop because it only accommodates 3-5 hens and I am hoping to have maybe 8-10. This would allow us to have enough eggs to share with our sons family and Mike’s parents who live close by.

It is amazing how many eggs I go through each week. It will be such a blessing to be able to go outside and get our own fresh eggs. So do any of you have any advice for me?

One of my followers here shared this blog (Rural Revolution) with me and they posted a wonderful article last week on what types of chickens you want for laying and which ones you want for meat. I don’t think I am ready for raising chickens for meat. I have heard that plucking chickens is a nightmare.

Last Sunday we went over on the farm. When we got there trees had fallen over the road leading to the farm so we got out and hiked up the side of the hill to where we want our house put. While on the way up the hill I saw many signs of deer.  I asked my son if he would teach me to hunt. He thinks it is hysterical that I might actually hunt but he just might be surprised. lol

Right now it is just woods but we plan to build on the exact same site that Mike’s grandparents had a little 3 room house more than 60 years ago where they raised 5 children. The house was torn down many years ago but each spring daffodils come up where the corners of the home were. His grandmother planted those when she first moved in. This is where his grandparents had their home.

We saw the old hand dug well that they used that was about 15-20 feet out the front door. Mike said we have to cave it in because it is no longer safe. I was hoping to restore the blocks around it and have it as a momento of his grandparents. Oh well.

We also found the old outhouse that surprisingly is still standing but covered in brush and fallen trees. It was made out of metal. Mike said he will push it over the hill with the bulldozer because he believes it is a snake pit. Gotta love WV. We do have our fair share of poisonous snakes around here.

This will be where we put our house. Mike is going to level it out for us and we will have a much larger yard area for the hounds to run around in. We will cut out many of the smaller trees.

We hiked up to the top of one point and looked over to another ridge. We will own the from the ridge we were on all the way over to the ridge you can see on the far side and about 200 feet down the other side of that.  We planned exactly where we will put the barn, chicken coop and garden.

For now I will stop boring with you the tales of my future farm. :::: Sigh::: I want to move.

7 responses to “Chicken Coop

  1. This is anything BUT boring! In fact many enjoyable books have been written about just such an experience…and yes, that is a hint :). I will be AVIDLY reading about your preparation, move, and life after!

    • Awe you are too sweet. This should be comical to watch the city girl move to the backwoods and actually raise food to eat. I am wondering if I shouldn’t give them names. hahaha

  2. I want to move there too!

    I can’t wait to see pictures in the other seasons – I’ll bet it’s beautiful!

    • It is very beautiful. I am so glad that I have a digital camera. The scenery and wildlife is amazing there. I will be sharing many pictures along the way. 🙂

  3. When I was 8yo we moved to a very rural area. There was a chicken coop. My folks got 100 fertile eggs and the set up necessary to keep them warm and hatch them. We watched the eggs hatch and grow. It was a wonder. The chicks became chickens, and the eggs started to arrive. I still have the Candler.

    Then it bacame a never ending battle to keep the rats and other animals from the neighboring woods out of the hen house. In the end – it was a losing battle.

    My mom called in a guy to slaughter the chickens that were left. Yes they do run around the yard with their heads cut off. We plucked and cleaned them. And they went into the freezer. Fed us for a long long time.

    It was an experience I am glad I had. Lessons learned: The coop had better be able to keep out the vermin. Make sure it is sufficiently far enough removed from your home, so that your home doesn’t also become a refuge.

    Good Luck
    TNT Man

    • I just read your reply to my husband. He has been sufficiently warned that this city girl needs him to create a poultry oasis for the chickens alone. hahaha

      I appreciate your sharing your story with me. It gives me a lot to think about. Knowledge is power and now I must plan accordingly. Thanks again. 🙂

  4. grace – very excited about your move! what a dream come true. I have really enjoyed the ideas and recipes you post and will continue to do so as you have time. God bless – Nicole

Leave a Reply

