Rubbed Bronze

Since we are staging the house to sell we noticed we had too many finishes throughout. We didn’t want to break the bank to buy new so what we can spray paint with a rubbed bronze finish we are. My sister had given me a double swing arm lamp for over my bed. It had a gold finish to it.

Mike stretched it out and sanded it a bit to make it hold the paint.

Once it was spray painted with the rubbed bronze finish we attached it to the wall behind our bed and added the lampshades. I have bought new bedding and will share the finished room soon. This is the headboard of the bed with the new lamp on the wall.

We have also painted the lamp over the sink in the bathroom. I didn’t take before pictures but it turned out great too. Mike plans to take down the ceiling fan in the room and paint it too. I will share that eventually.

We got a lot done this weekend. Mike painted the ceiling and finished casing the new window in the bedroom. I love it. We haven’t bought curtains for it yet but we did install the blinds for privacy and to keep the sun from waking us so early.

I can’t wait for it to all be finished. We decided that we would attack one room and completely finish it before going to the next. Caleb’s room has the least work that needs done to it. I am hoping that this week we will get the master bedroom finished. Yesterday we went to Lowes and bought all of the baseboard trim to match the trim on the windows, closet and door to the closet. Hopefully it won’t take too long to get it all attached.

We worked late into the evening and got the new closet doors on. Mike stained them to match the trim from the windows. This is the before picture.

This is the after picture. We added rubbed bronze door knobs as well.

We love the way it turned out. Now we need to replace the door to the room, install the trim that is already stained and add the new bedding and curtain and we are done with this room. 🙂

I want to be done with this room by next weekend. I think it is a doable. 🙂

3 responses to “Rubbed Bronze

  1. I love what you did with the lamp!

    I can’t wait for warm weather so I can yard sale my lil’ heart away for certain things I’m looking for, for the new place. This is the first time I’m excited for the snow to be gone! I would love to try my hand at upholstering a chair or refinishing a cabinet. FUN, FUN, FUN!!

    • I can’t wait to see what you are doing to your new home. We have had such abnormally warm weather lately that it feels like spring already. I want to be outside so badly on the farm. I know that you are just as excited as I am. 🙂

  2. I also love what you did with the lamp. I have a gold-toned lamp in the living room that I might try the same thing on…..

Leave a Reply

