Country Beef Patties

Oh these are sooooooooooo good. The house smelled so good while these were cooking that I could barely wait till they were finished to try them. They might not be the prettiest things but they sure do make up for it once you put it in your mouth. 🙂 I served them with the Broiled Asparagus with Parmesan Cheese.

Country Beef Patties

  • 2 pounds ground beef
  • 4 sliced uncooked bacon, diced
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Tomatoe Gravy:

  • 4 Tablespoons green pepper- diced
  • 1 teaspoon dried minced onion
  • 2 (14.5 ounce) cans diced tomatoes (I used 2 pints of tomatoes that I had canned)
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 2 teaspoon Splenda
  • 1 teaspoon celery salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

In a large bowl, combine the beef, bacon, onion powder, salt and pepper. Shape into 8 patties: brown in a skillet over medium heat. Remove patties and keep warm.

Drain all but 1 Tablespoon drippings. In same skillet add all of the ingredients for the tomato gravy. Stir well. Add burgers back to pan and turn once to coat in tomato mixture. Cover and cook on low for 30 minutes. The sauce will condence and naturally thicken.

Turn patties and cook uncovered for 10 more minutes. Serve warm. Serves 8.

Nutritional Information: Calories- 343, Carbohydrates- 6.2 carbs,

4 responses to “Country Beef Patties

  1. I met you last year at your doctor’s office and was inspired to “do it again”…so here I am!! I’m down 20 lb in 4 months and my glucose is wonderful!! We thoroughly enjoyed this meal…my 11 year old son said “I don’t know what this is but it’s one of the best things I’ve ever eaten!” Yummy!!

    • Hi Lori. I remember you well. Way to go on the weight loss and glucose under control. I know that you are feeling wonderful. I am glad that you enjoyed this recipe. Please stick around and give me advice on recipes and products. I recall you had a wealth of knowledge on the subject of eating low carb when we spoke. 🙂

  2. Happy to stick around 🙂 I’m in it for good! My highest glucose so far has been 132!!! My fastings are still 107-120’s so for now I must stay on metformin. I am having hip surgery in June and want to be in the best shape possible, medically, to recover optimally!! Thanks for the inspiration! I even started my own blog, thanks to you…not quite sure what I’m doing but…lol. It is at PAmomathome.wordpress.com I may need some advice there too, lol!

    • Yay Lori. You will very quickly have no problems at filling your blog. I know that you are going to do great at the weight loss and staying on track. You seem to already be determined to succeed at this. How long will you be off from work due to the surgery? Many of the recipes on the blog freeze well. I highly suggest cooking ahead for the first few days after you are home. When my sister had her surgery I made several meals and put in her freezer. I have no doubt that you will be great at this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

