Grilled Trout

To say my son loves to fish is an understatement. If he could do it professionally he would in a heartbeat. He is the most happiest when he has his family on a river bank and they are all fishing. Caleb has had his own fishing pole since he was 8 months old and he went fishing for the first time when he was only 2 months old.

A couple of weeks ago Stephen gave me his catch of the day of trout. I have so much trout in my freezer and have been taking it to lunch with me too.  Check out how big the one trout is. I put my hand in the picture so that you can accurately judge the size of this fish.

Grilled Trout

  • 1/4 cup chardonnay or chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 3 Tablespoons Splenda
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon EACH, dried basil, thyme and rosemary, crushed
  • 4 medium size trout

Place all ingredients in a large resealable bag. Marinate for at least an hour. Pour off marinade and place on well greased aluminum foil.

Cook over hot grill for approximately 3 minutes each side. I kept the lid on the grill during this time as well. Fish cooks very quickly.

These were so easy to pull off the bone after they were cooked.

I divided these into 5 different containers and froze them to take to work throughout the week for my lunch. I love to cook once for my lunch for the week. It saves so much time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

