Almond Joy Ice Cream

As I promised a few days ago I am making homemade ice cream. This recipe as very good but I think it needs tweaking a bit. I am going to play around with the sweetener a bit. I used xylitol and I am more used to Splenda. I think I will combine the two and see what results I get from that. I will let you know how I like it.

This is my precious ice cream maker. Isn’t it purty?

 

I made the ice cream exactly as written on the blog below but I did add 1/2 cup of sliced almonds near the end. It does set up hard as a rock in the freezer as she said it does. I am researching ways to prevent that and will let you know what I find out later. TNT Man  wasn’t kidding when he said that you have to work fast to get the ice cream out of the maker before it freezes solid to the canister. I thought I was quick but I still have about 1/4 an inch stuck inside that had to slowly melt so that I could scrape it off.

This was so much fun to watch while it turned to ice cream.

I am going to try TNT Man’s ice cream after I get some light cream and strawberries.

Almond Joy Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

