Putnam County Farmer’s Market Returns

I am very pleased that the Putnam County Farmer’s Market has returned again. I had learned that they were moving their location from where they were last year and I was concerned how this would work but it seems to be working out just fine. I have been two weeks in a row with no difficulties at all. I am looking forward to when they will have fresh produce. For now this is what they have to share.

Twin Maples Farm– They are a wonderful farm that raise llamas and at the farmer’s market they had bags of the wool taken from them for the handspinners to make into yarn. Do you call it wool if it comes from a llama? I am not sure but anyway they have it. 🙂

They also made fresh pies that are not low carb but looked delicious. If you check out their website you will see that they offer llama treks, fresh eggs, honey, rabbits, beef steers, breeding stock, vegetables, soap and plants as available. I may have to take a drive out there and visit. It looks like a nice place to be. 🙂

Mud River Pottery– This booth is run by its owner, Susan Maslowski. I love her pottery. Especially the red ones. When I get to the new house I know that I will have to have some of this to grace my bookshelves in the living room. She also sells fresh herbs.

She also sells homemade Strawberry Jam.

KillerBee Honey- This vendor sells fresh honey as well as fresh vegetable plants. I didn’t get to speak with him this year as he was so busy with customers but he had some unique vegetables last summer. You definitely want to check him out.

Windy City Farms- This farm is located in Hurricane, WV and has some of the prettiest flowers that you can find. If you are looking for healthy plants to spruce up your flower beds you can’t go wrong with this lady’s booth.

Shooting Star Farm– She was selling fresh eggs and lip balm made from her honey bees. They raise North Country Chevior Sheep, chickens, hogs, cattle, blackberries, honeybees, fruits/vegetables and herbs.

Foster Farms was also there selling their eggs. Once their summer crops come in I will be purchasing much of my produce from them as I did last year.

Itty Bitty Farms- I was really hoping to get to meet the owner of this farm but her very polite children told me that she was up cooking for the market until 2AM and was home resting. She has frequented this blog before and I also follow her on facebook so I was hoping to meet her in real life. That would have been awesome. Sigh:::

Her children were smiling the entire time and chatting with the customers. The food looked wonderful and smelled heavenly.

They had a grill and were cooking sausage and biscuits for the crowds. It smelled so wonderful. I hope that they are there each week. They are going to be a big asset to the market. 🙂

Well, now you know where I spend my early Saturday mornings. Caleb loves to go with me and get watermelon when it comes into season. There is another gentleman that will be selling cornbread and zucchini bread as the season progresses. All in all it is a nice place to visit. If you have time stop by. The market is open on Thursdays from 3:30- 7:00 PM and Saturdays from 8:00 AM- Noon. You can also find more information from them at the following website. Putnam Farmer’s Market.

 

Leave a Reply

